Resentment Halts Productivity
19 August, 2003 - 12:20 p.m.

No, no pictures yet. I just don't feel like doing them. I did upload a couple to my Fotolog, so if you really need a picture fix, go see those.

I got a little out of sorts over the weekend, and I haven't recovered. My period is looming, and I'm sure that has something to do with it. As seems to be the norm for the past several months, I have many symptoms of a head/chest cold too. I seem to get this before every single period now. This morning I had a ton o' phlegm to hack up. It was joyous. I am quite annoyed by this monthly "cold". Like having a period isn't bad enough on its own.

But the period isn't the only thing that got in my way. The weekend did too. I often quit doing whatever I was doing during the week to spend more time with John over the weekend. We don't usually do things like clean out the basement or pull weeds out of the flower bed, which would have kept me on track. We tend to do things like sit around the house or go shopping for things we don't need. We did both of those this weekend. We also watched more TV than normal, because the Tivo is taking over our lives. It's not really. It just had a little more influence over the weekend. We were prone to laziness, and it enabled us.

Yesterday, I just wanted to rest. Taking a shower and shaving my legs was about all the activity I could manage. Chalk that one up to the period.

Today I intend to get back to my productive self. I refuse to let this trend continue.

I found out Sunday that I will be having more time off from working than previously expected. Now it's looking like I won't be working again until mid-September. Seems the hospital is taking its sweet time doing what needs to be done to get me and the PTA hired. I hope John won't mind making another car payment. Like either of us really have a choice.

I am feeling myself slipping into a few old (bad) habits though. John was supposed to finish up dishes, and then I would take over while I'm off. He never finished them. He did quick, little necessity washed, but he never cleaned the slate. It's now been a whole week since he emptied the dishwasher, and dirty dishes are stacking up all over the kitchen. Fortunately for this situation but not for our wallet, we have been eating out a lot. Dishes are not piling up at the rate that could be. But then, I refuse to make anything more complex than mac and cheese when the counters and sink are full of dirty dishes. The last few days, I haven't even done that much.

I'm getting angry and resentful that he couldn't complete a five-minute job (at the time), so I could take over. It's also very irritating that I busted my freakin' ass in the basement last week, and he couldn't manage to empty a dishwasher and put the clean dishes in the drainer away. So that's part of the reason I haven't done any more laundry, vacuumed the carpet, or resumed cleaning the basement. I'm angry he hasn't done his part, so I'm rebelling and not doing mine.

I also haven't really discussed this with him in more length than to say the dishwasher still needs emptied or that the sooner he gets those dishes done, the sooner he won't have to do them for a few weeks. Those few weeks could have been two more had he just got off his ass and done them in the first place.

I get the excuse wagon whenever I mention the dishes though. He has been working on getting the computer set back up. I had to get my email and bookmarks working myself, because he never did do those though, even though I requested it from him all week long. He also likes to point out how he went shopping with me or did this or that for me or told me he was don't such-and-such. He seems to think this makes it OK that he couldn't take a couple minutes out of his martyr schedule to do his job. Yesterday he worked on a script he and his brother are writing. He also hasn't failed to check his email one day since he got home.

I really didn't mean to turn this into a bitch-a-thon, but I am angry. I just regret I didn't discuss this in more detail with him. I guess I didn't realize how angry I was until I really focused on it. The good news is foul moods often make for great cleaning.

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:
It Hurt Me More Than It Hurt You (from two years ago)

|

< previous | next >