The First Day in Wyoming
21 August, 2003 - 12:43 p.m.

Our first full day camping, we decided to go fishing. John got a fishing license for every single day were were there, and I had one for four days, so at $10 a day, we figured we better try and get our money's worth. We drove up to the the mountain range, so we could hike to our favorite lake, not too far away. It seemed every morning we went up there, there was this beautiful, blue, cloudless sky. Almost every afternoon, the clouds would move in, but usually they were scattered and harmless. The only thing I did to the above photo was put the black border on it. Otherwise, it is completely un-retouched. That was one fantastically blue sky.

We fished almost all day and caught one after another for a while. Despite the SPF 30 sunscreen (which, by the way, is just as effective as anything with a higher number), I got a significant sunburn on my legs and lower arms. Of all days to wear shorts! Fortunately, I did wear a long-sleeve shirt, and I was able to pull the sleeves down and save myself from worse burning. The legs got it good though, and I wore pants the rest of the trip.

If you could see my expression, I look thrilled to be there. My dad took this picture with my camera after John yelled at me for taking pictures of everyone else and not getting any of myself. The picture before this was much better, but my mom was sprawled out on a rock and would kill me if she ever found out I posted that on a website, and I was too lazy to crop, so you get the crabby-looking picture of me. I really did have a great time that day though.

This is Lookout Lake where we were fishing. See all those scrubby trees in the foreground? On the way to our fishing spot, we went through those, so not only were my legs burnt that day, they were scraped all to hell. It looked like I went mountain biking. I picked the absolute worst day to wear shorts. We never hiked through brush again, and we didn't sit out in the sun all day any other day either.

On the way back to the car, I stopped to take numerous pictures. The lichen that grows on the rocks there has always fascinated me. This picture is a detail of the one I have on my Fotolog. If you've been checking that out, sorry about the repeats, but again, I'm lazy.

Kaiya loved hiking! We were all panting like dogs ourselves from the altitude and being completely out of shape. We'd go up a hill, stop, and huff and puff for a while, then move on. But the dog? She just pulled as much as she ever does, wanting to gogogo and jump in streams to bite at the gurgling water. My only regret of the trip (well, besides wearing shorts this day) was not getting video of that dog in the stream. Even if it would have been one of the crappy MPEGs that my camera does, it would have been better than nothing.

Booie, on the other hand, did not enjoy hiking very much at all. She was quite miffed about having to raise her arms over her head and plow through scrub-brush almost as tall as she was. I'm so glad I put that girl in pants that day! She bitched enough as it was. She was happy to catch fish later though, and when she got tired of that, she took off her shoes and played in the shallow area of the lake, despite the cold water. She wasn't fond of the hike back to the car, but once I caught back up to her and John (remember, I was snap-happy photo girl), she liked my pace better. Plus, she had the dog to hug, which she did.

And that's all for today, because I am lazy but not so lazy as to not want to work on my house some more. I snapped out of my funk yesterday and started cleaning like a freak again. Counseling did us some good, and so did John coming home and unloading the dishwasher after work that day. The kitchen still has some work he has to do, but at least there aren't dirty dishes all over the place anymore.

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:
Ahh, Sleep

|

< previous | next >