Foot in Mouth Disease
20 May, 2001 - 10:35 p.m.

Foot in Mouth Disease

I like to be able to admit when I�m wrong. It�s something I haven�t been very good at doing in the past and even now, so if I get the opportunity, I should do it, right? That�s why I need to say the whole room situation was not an issue at all, and I�m an idiot. The only thing wrong with the way things are set up is there are not enough damn bathtubs in this house, in particular the rooms that are apparently for people with kids. So anyway, I�m stupid. It�s a good thing I didn�t get all worked up over the issue though.

I�m enjoying myself thus far, but I�m not liking the movies at night thing that seems to be happening. I don�t know about everyone else, or maybe I do since they�re all watching movies right now, but I don�t care to come to the beach to sit and watch movies. I don�t think everyone should be like me, but it would be nice if there were more people like me, so I wasn�t sitting here writing in my journal instead of getting drunk and playing games or something fun like that. But if they are having fun watching movies, I guess that�s ok. This is my problem. I can admit that.

So now that I�ve got all that out of my system, I can talk about all the good things. This house fucking rocks, first of all. I would have to say it�s the best house yet, even without enough bathtubs. We have a private walk to the ocean, and no houses across from us to obstruct our view of the sunset. The bedrooms are all very spacious. The furnishing is beautiful. If I get around to it (I�m not making any promises. This is vacation.), I�ll get some pictures. I should have taken pictures before everyone moved in, but it�s too late for that. Maybe after we all pack up, I can do a little tour. It�s just obscene to be able to live so luxuriously, if even for only a week.

I had a good, drunk first night and stayed up in the hot tub until four in the morning with my father-in-law. There were originally more than just the two of us, but people slowly peeled away until it was just he and I hanging out and talking. It was just one of those nice things to be able to talk to someone I don�t usually get to talk to for any length of time. That�s one of the things I really appreciate about these family vacations. I get to talk to all these people and relate to them in ways the typical family gatherings just don�t make possible.

I started out this morning sleeping late, which is something I hardly ever do on vacation. I figure I can sleep at home and get up with the sunrise almost every day. But since I practically stayed up until sunrise, that wasn�t going to happen this day. I woke up first to the sound of pool balls clacking at 7:50AM, which was really uncool, but that didn�t stop me from staying in bed for another hour and a half. My head kinda hurt from drinking too much alcohol and too little water, a point that would haunt me again. That didn�t squelch my resolve to run on the beach though. I got up, dressed in running clothes and ate. J said he would go walk with me at first with L, then I could run away. When another person came back and reported a �dead thing bigger than me� down the beach, our intimate walk turned into a gang fascinated with death. Several people went to see what turned out to be a disgusting, bloated, dead dolphin. I didn�t go near it. I understand death is natural, but it still made me sad to see that body lying there. I don�t have the same morbid curiosity that brought my son and others to that place.

It was about that point we parted ways, and I ran down the beach, thoroughly enjoying my surroundings and surprising myself with my endurance, even though I haven�t been running near enough. I probably could have run much further had I not had the bad hydration ratio I mentioned previously. I came back hot and exhausted, but that made my shower that much more refreshing. Now I�m trying to decide if it�s a good idea to run every day or only every other day. I suppose I�ll see how I feel tomorrow.

As I said, we are making a point to take it easy and really relax this vacation, and that�s what we did today. It�s a little chilly to swim in the pool or ocean, but it�s still nice to be at the beach. Nothing wild and crazy to report so far. I�m sure there will be at least one good story to tell from this week. I�m usually good for one each vacation.


Previous|Next

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >