Phase One, Complete
21 June, 2005 - 10:09 a.m.

Just finished the last coat of the base color in Booie's room--a super-bright sunny yellow. This color glows.

Like being inside the sun

John and I have both told Booie to go turn her light off when it wasn't on. Poor kid might be getting a lot more exercise with her room this color. I like that it's not white anymore, and I'm glad she likes it, but there will be days when I will have to close that door. Maybe the addition of the dots and strips will help calm it down a bit. It's possible it could get worse too, but we'll see. I know for sure that room will need repainted if we ever move.

I cleaned up partway when I was done, kind of like a real grown-up. I needed a little break after cleaning that roller and pulling all the tape. Too much sweating. It's about the only way I have broken out in a sweat lately. Sad. I'll get back in there once the paint has had a chance to dry and get some kind of order back in there, so Booie won't have to sleep downstairs on the futon for another night. Even with Kaya for company as she falls asleep, she's had enough of that. So I'll move some furniture, so it isn't all bunched in the center under plastic.

After the Big Primer Spill of Saturday Night, I didn't spill a drop of anything. I got a couple of bloops on the ceiling I was able to wipe off, (Painting tip #1 of the day: Keep a rag next to you, so you don't have to scoot around the room to get it when you make a boo-boo. Keep keeping it with you after the first boo-boo.) and I don't think I'll need to touch them up. I had plastic all over the place and didn't made a mess. Isn't that always the way? I lay the goopy boo-boo-rag on the plastic goop-down on purpose, just so I could feel like I used all that caution for a reason. I also found out I could have bought water-based primer that wouldn't have been so smelly or messy when half a can gets spilled on the floor you didn't cover. There's even a no-stink version of primer. In an effort to really piss myself off, I tried to think back why I got the stupid, smelly, messy, oil-based primer. Ah yes. Price. Want to know how much I saved to have a big chalky-looking blob on Booie's hardwood floor? Two bucks on the two cans I bought at the time. I knocked about six dollars worth of primer on the floor. That was a bargain. (Painting tip #2 of the day: Don't be cheap!)

So how much trouble do you think it will be to do stripes and big-ass polka dots on Booie's wall now? I was thinking it would be pretty darn easy, which probably means it's going to be a total pain in the rump. Booie also brought up an interesting question: how many coats of paint will be needed so she doesn't end up with a bunch of different shades of brown spots and stripes? She actually only wondered if the purple would turn brown because my girl knows her color theory. Knowing how things go though, any color with that yellow would probably turn some type of brown. I guaranteed her there would be no brown, so if we have to make inch-think spots and stripes, so be it. I promised that girl her room, and she's going to get it.

Now that I started a paint project, I'm ready to paint every room in the house, even though painting furnished rooms is a nuisance. I never did finishe the fourth wall in the living room, and the ceiling has had a few boo-boo bloops for years now. We're all used to it now, but anyone that comes over notices it, right after the comment on our great wall color. It is great too. Just not in splotches along the edge of the ceiling. I always intended to paint the ceiling too, and now that I know what I want for the dining room, I can do it. The living room and dining room are really just imaginary. It's one big room, so the ceiling has to complement both areas. So that's next. As much as I want to do our bedroom, that's probably going to wait a while. I have a blech-y wallpaper border to remove first, and projects like that always take me a few years.

Once again, money inhibits how much I can do too. When did paint get so damn expensive? Sheesh. I can afford about one can a payday, since we're being good with our money and all. At that rate, Booie's room won't be complete until Thanksgiving. I should do some more work. Or John and his brother better get that script sold.

Those are two subjects I will have to go into more later. I spent all my time here talking about paint, and now I should be able to make Booie's room into a place she can sleep again. And my plants need watered. Then I'll have to cook, because we're being better with our money. And because we have no money. Seriously. And it's only Tuesday. I need to shut up before I think myself into another funk.

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >