Experiments with Kool-Aid
21 June, 2005 - 11:44 p.m.

I didn't write on my book today. I wasn't thrilled with my most recent writing, and I'm letting it affect me too much. Just write. Keep moving. Edit later. I'll work on it tomorrow. It's a great thing to do with laundry. I'm not going to start tonight, though I think I could really get some work done. I am beat though, and staying up late and getting up tomorrow isn't such a good idea. I can babble for a few minutes while I wait for John to come to bed though.

Lemon Ice Kool-Aid is really weird. We had tons of that flavor, so I figured I'd make that. Another effort to be financially lean--using what's on hand. I haven't made Kool-Aid in a very long itme. Don't even remember buying it. Sometimes artificial is good. It doesn't go bad. The macaroni I pulled out of the cupboard, on the other hand, had a questionable status. We didn't eat that. We did drink the Kool-Aid.

Anyway, this Lemon Ice stuff is white. The powder is white. The drink itself is white. Thought I'd clarify, because Kool-Aid also makes flavors that change colors from powder to mixed. You know that's healthy.

And in case you ever needed to know how to make your poop green--grape Kool-Aid. It has to be plain, old grape that is a normal puple grape color with purple grape powder. None of that crazy color-changing stuff, because I can't guarantee green poo with that. It might work; I don't know. I do know grape Kool-Aid works. The more you drink, the greener the poo. I drank tons of the stuff when I was truly poor, thanks to my X. The poor, not the Kool-Aid, although I guess that too. I got on a grape Kool-Aid kick because it tasted good, and I didn't drink and couldn't afford pop at the time. (They say pop here in Pittsburgh too, which pleases me. Ridiculous, but true.) I had grass green poop all the time. Yes, I looked at my poop. Everyone does, and you know it. Even that doctor on Oprah said you should look at your poop. If you don't, you won't know what the hell's going on, like crapping green. And it's not just me that gets the grape Kool-Aid effect. The kids did too. It's quite a surprise when you change the diaper after that first drink of grape Kool-Aid. It took a bit for me to figure out why my child was pooping such a vivid green. Sometimes it would happen with purple popcicles and other purple foods. Don't believe me? Experiment for yourself. You can crap green too.

When I started making soap and joined some groups for soapmakers, I heard about soap-coloring experiments gone wrong. Guess what turns soap green? Grape Kool-Aid. The dye reacts with the lye int he process. Must be the same process with the acid in the digestive tract.

I've expanded my Kool-Aid horizons since then, though I still tend to like the basics best. Tropical punch flavor dumped straight into a pitcher of orange juice, nothing else except sugar if you like, is darn good stuff too. I'd forgotten about that. I'll have to get some tropical punch next grocery stop. All we have now are the goofy flavors the kids picked. Like that Lemon Ice.

When I first drank it, it was fine--kind of like lemonade but lighter. Then you sit a while and this after-effect kicks in. My throat felt all cool, and I could feel it all the way down the food chute. Hence the "Ice" part of the name. If you've tried that Cool Burst Tylenol, same effect. I don't care for it. Especially with food. Flippin' ruined my spaghetti. And I doubt it will even affect my poo. Those darn beasts better drink up. Stupid new Kool-Aid flavors.

I'm getting to be a crotchety old hag already. Go me!

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >