Good and Bad Naked
24 June, 2001 - 12:40 p.m.

Good and Bad Naked

Some things seem to be made for doing naked, like sex and bathing. Other things would be ok to do naked, like housework or frolicking on the beach. Then there are things that just don't seem right to do naked, like mountain biking. Besides the fact that it seems rather like the Seinfeld episode when Jerry was grossed out seeing his nude girlfriend straining to open a jar (of pickles?), riding through woods and weeds and just sitting on that wretched seat while naked don't seem like a particularly good idea. I got the shit scratched out of me as it is wearing shorts and a t-shirt. Can you even imagine what I might have looked like had I been wearing nothing?

I suppose it doesn't make sense to me because I'm not a nudist by nature, but even so, the whole idea seems entirely uncomfortable. After my last ride (which should have been yesterday but wasn't), the subject of deer ticks came up. Riding through the woods, as much as is typically the case in mountain biking, seems to me like a good time to cover up. It is one of the recommended ways to avoid being bit by deer ticks, among other nasty insects, and avoiding the risk of Lyme disease. Riding nude seems like an engraved invitation to be bitten. And that doesn't even consider the itch factor. I was itchy enough wearing clothes.

Besides bugs, there are plants, like poison ivy, oak and sumac that are good enough at finding the one square inch of exposed skin on a body. Having an entire body of exposed skin is asking for trouble. Even if you manage to avoid all the poison variety of plants, there are still those with thorns and jaggers. Even the ones that just are can be itchy and uncomfortable, only made worse when you're hot and sweaty. I thought my Wednesday case of the itchies was bad; consider how I'd have been had I ridden nude.

The woes of my bike seat are well known now. Maybe it wouldn't be any worse with the bit of fabric of my underwear and shorts between my fanny and the seat, but I doubt that. The seat already tries to cut me in two. It would have a head start if I had nothing between it and myself. That is not a pretty picture. It's pretty clear those seats weren't made for comfort with clothes on. With clothes off, they could certainly rival the torture devices of the Dark Age.

Needless to say, I will never be experimenting with nude mountain biking. It's not for me. It's obviously for other people, because this whole subject was brought on by a search hit I got, and I'm on the second page. I'm sure there's freedom in doing things nude, and it probably feels pretty good to have the wind pass over your body while riding, but that seems more suited to casual bike riding. You wouldn't have to worry about mud all over your clothes if you weren't wearing any, and it would sure be easy to jump in the shower when you got home. Still, I'm not convinced that it's a good idea, so there will never, ever be any pictures of me doing it. That's definitely bad naked in my book.


Previous|Next

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >