What Matters
25 January, 2001 - 1:00 AM to 11:40 PM

This is another in a series transposed from my paper journal that was written right after we arrived home from the hospital.

1:00 AM - What Matters

We're home now. Though happy, it hasn't been the magic cure I think she was hoping for. At least there are no more doctors and nurses to prod her and ask her questions. Now it's a matter of rehabilitating her. But now now it's time for sleep.

11:40 PM - A Whole Day

This morning, I was planning on being back in the hospital at this time. Booie had a horrible night without the Tylenol with codiene. In the morning, she was in such pain she wanted to go back to the doctor. I knew it was awful when I heard that. She was prescribed more Tylenol-3, and it's been a very good day ever since.

Boo is enjoying playing with her own toys, having access to more children's programming, eating food she really likes and seeing and petting her pets. She seems more willing to try things on her own here and doesn't have to worry about doctors or nurses bothering her. She's been getting on and off the couch a few times when she wants something. She crawled across the floor to pet and lie next to the dog. She even sat in a chair at the computer. She is in much better spirits, so we all are too.

It must be the newfound hope that enables me to stay awake to write this, for I had a badbadbad night's sleep last night. But before I say goodnight, I must say how proud I am of Hammy getting into gifted. Hopefully it will be a good experience for him that helps him become a little more responsible and organized in school. I know he will enjoy the studies.


Previous|Next

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >