I join the ranks of the blue-hairs
27 October, 2000 - 10:14 AM

We went to the mall last night after picking J up. He needs a Halloween costume now that the band is playing out that night and everyone else is dressing up. He wants something a little different, and I don't blame him. There's not much fun in being one of eight vampires or one of fifty Scream killers.

Since we went directly to the mall from the train station, dinner was first on the agenda. After parking and seeing some kids go into the mall in costume, we realized this was Trick-or-Treat at the mall night. Crap. Our kids weren't in costume, since I had forgotten about it. They both wanted to go home and get their costumes on, but J didn't want to go back. Mean, old daddy. L got a candy bag at the Sears entrance anyway. j turned shy and didn't take one. There were other kids without costumes, and all of them had candy bags, so at least our kids could still have the fun of going store to store. We still ate first.

There was a temporary Halloween store set up in the mall as well as the standard Spencer store. We hit Spencer first. I was on a quest for a blue wig. I won't be attending the gig Halloween night, but the blue wig isn't a Halloween thing. I just wanted a blue wig. I've wanted a blue wig for about a year now. If it weren't for the kids, I would have blue hair, but since I do have kids, I would settle for a blue wig. I had looked at many other stores, but the blue wasn't the right shade, or the wig hair was scary-plastic-y, or the cut was stupid. I found one that met all my requirements. It was a good blue, nice and primary. It was a good style. And it was about as close to good hair as I was going to get without spending a couple hundred dollars. When I tried it on, (that totally grossed me out; more on that in a bit) I instantly fell in love with me with blue hair. I now own a blue wig, and it won't just be getting used on Halloween.

When I tried on my wig, I pulled one from close to the back of the row that looked like it hadn't been opened. The thought of all those people trying on those wigs and then putting it on my head just gives me fits. Can we all say, "lice," people? Ew. Seeing some of the regular hair on some of the people that were trying on said wigs was bad enough. You can't really tell what creepy-crawlies are in those strands. I've heard lice like clean hair better, so just because someone's hair looks nice doesn't mean the little buggers aren't in there. Ew. Ew, ew, ew!

J had a much more difficult time finding something. In fact, we're going out again tonight to look at some other stores. He has lots of ideas, but none grip him. So far, he's down to being Dee Snider from the Twisted Sister days or being Slash from Guns 'n Roses. After looking on the web for some Dee Snider pics, he was leaning more toward Slash, especially after seeing D.S. in falsies. I told him the more outrageous he got, the funnier it would be, but he's a little more reserved than I am. I still think he should be Wonder Woman, but he's not going for that. He really wants to be Mojo Jojo from The Powerpuff Girls, but there are no costumes of him, and it's not an easy one to make at home.

There will be a monkey in the band that night. Actually, he will be a gorilla; a Planet of the Apes gorilla will be on keyboards, no less. J is so jealous. He loves Planet of the Apes. Whenever that movie comes on, we end up watching it. It's one of those movies you leave on for a bit out of nostalgia and end up sitting through the whole thing. Every time. It's pathetic. We are Planet of the Apes junkies.

The only other costume I know yet is the drummer. He is going to be Charlie Brown. He even plans on shaving his head and drawing a squiggle on his head in marker. I hope he knows that's not coming off. Anything else would probably sweat right off him through the night though. I would love to see him three days later with a faint marker squiggle on his head. That would be like my red hair fiasco back in the day (the day being 13 years ago, ACK!). The "temporary" red color faded to pink. I had pink hair for a week, and it would have been longer than that if I didn't wash my hair two and three times a day all week long. Those were the days I should have went wild, but I was too worried about what everyone thought of me. I let it slip away. Like I'm that much different now anyway. I have my blue wig though.

In my first outreach since I began this journal, I would like to lobby for ideas on Halloween costumes for J. Any fun/cheap/easy ideas for a guitarist on Halloween night?


Previous|Next

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >