Weekend Suckage
28 January, 2002 - 12:18 p.m.

Weekend Suckage

This weekend? It sucked. And whether or not you want to know why, I'm going to tell you.

It all started well enough with a clean house by Friday night and the sale of two pinball machines. But this most recent suck-fest obviously didn't recognized Friday night as part of the weekend, and that's a very good thing, because I don't know that I could have handled any more than I did.

Saturday even started off okay. I got to sleep late, and I felt good when I finally got up. After quite a bit of loafing around and a shower, we decided to go out for a late lunch/early dinner and spend the free cards we had for Dave & Busters. We won lots of tickets and both the kids got to pick a couple things to take home. Of course, we could have bought twice that much if we would have just taken the money to the store, but everyone had fun, so it was worth it.

As we rode home though, the trouble began. Hammy started with the attitude and got into all kinds of trouble. He was already grounded and feels life is terribly unfair to him, even though he got a reprieve that afternoon. His lack of appreciation infuriates me, so he and John and I all got into it for the rest of the ride home and into the house where he yelled at us and stormed off. After a little composure-gathering, John and I went into his room, and we talked. I talked with him long after John left, and Ham and I felt a lot better. We'll see how long it works.

John leaving and not coming back irritated me, and I told him so. There wasn't much time to discuss it though, since he had to go play with the band. I spent a mostly quiet evening at home with the kids, worked out way too late and couldn't sleep. I usually don't go to sleep well when John isn't home anyway, so it wasn't all from having exercised so late.

I woke up feeling tired, but I couldn't lay there any longer either. I slugged around the house until game time, and we watched the Steelers lose. John sulked mightily afterward, and he and I got in another argument over his inability to recognize an overflowing garbage can. But it didn't just stop at the garbage, because it never does, so we argued for a while. Then we talked, and that lasted way too late.

Over everything else, it was the disagreements and serious talking that wrenched the whole weekend for me. Nothing is ever very happy when the relationship isn't happy. Our progress has lapsed recently, and I feel uncomfortable with John's change of behavior lately. Counseling this week should be interesting.

I'm so very tired today that only now do I feel like starting my day. Up until this time, I've been on the computer doing reviews at Garageband.com and reading forums. It's a fantastically beautiful day out; a perfect day to start my running program. I could stand to do the usual cleaning and laundry around here too and get another lesson done in my Photoshop book. I have to finish up scrapbooks I'm making for Booie's Brownie meeting tomorrow too.

So life is back to the boring norm, and even the stinky weekend I had wasn't exciting. I need to get a life.


Decluttering:

I'm just getting started on the day


Previous|Next

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >