Freedom Unwanted
30 August, 2005 - 8:49 a.m.

The kids are finally back in school again, and even though we didn't do thing together every day over the summer, it was nice just to have them around. I don't enjoy a house to myself the way I once did when it was rare. Now I believe it was just one of my many excuses why I didn't get things done.

Anyway, I'm looking to break my current pattern of moping. I had a full day of wallowing yesterday, which is quite enough. With the weekend being as unproductive as it was, I am on the verge of a habit. Much longer, and the stagnancy will become a lifestyle, and I really don't want that. So this day will be a decent one of getting things done and making myself a better happier person. On my own.

Laundry must be first priority as it's been two weeks, and I'm out of underwear. Hammy, boy of a million t-shirts, said he is out of shirts. I almost had to send Booie to school in long sleeves today. John is always out of something. He only has a couple apir of work pants, so he doesn't count. I told him to buy more pants, but he doesn't want to buy any while he's "fat". I know that feeling, but I also know how nice it is to have clothes to wear. He should buy some damn pants. At least he knows not to complain about them not being clean.

I don't know what I thought was my next priority. Oh yes... exercise! I haven't done it in maybe a week. Not good. I hope to establish a routine of doing it early. Today won't be the start of that, but before noon is still good.

While the next thing may not be important, it is needed. I have to vacuum. There are puddles of fur around all the table and chair legs and in corners and along walls. Soon, it will be an ocean of fur. Walking through the house in socks is a fur magnet. My level of annoyance at that is getting out of control. And since Hammy had an old dry-rotted bike tire in the house, I can't even walk around barefoot to avoid the furry sock problem. I get bike tire particles stuck to my bare feet which is worse than fur stuck to my socked feet. I can no longer avoid vacuuming.

Various sorting and organizing is something I really want to do, and it always needs done. If nothing else, all those home improvement shows serve to motivate me to go through the mess and rid myself of much of it. I'm very anxious to get my house in order, and I have been getting there, even though I haven't documented everything.

I suppose I ought to get moving. Collecting my thoughts is good, but in the end, I must do.

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >