Maybe It Is a Landfill
01 October, 2002 - 11:58 a.m.

Maybe It Is a Landfill

While preparing the pictures of my basement, I was overcome with embarrassment, but that's not going to stop me from putting them up. I'm hoping it might provide a smidgen of motivation to stop living like pigs and clean that up. I've previously spoken of arson as a solution, and I still consider that a possibility. Also on the list for consideration is bulldozing, filling the basement with cement, or having a garage sale where I just point people right through the garage into the basement and tell them everything is free. But before I resort to any of those methods, I think I'll try to clean it up myself. Pity the garbage men on our route.

You know what my basement looks like? It looks like one of those houses you see on the news of people who can't throw anything away, and nobody knows about it until the dead body odor starts wafting outside. I'm halfway to becoming a crazy cat lady. I'm standing in the very threshold of insanity. The proof follows.

First, I'll start off with a crude floor plan. It's hard to believe I was an interior design/architecture major when last I attended college from the looks of this thing, but I did it in a paint program, not some fancy CAD. Back in the day, when I was in school, we had to draw all our floor plans by hand. We weren't allowed to use computers. Maybe I should have drawn this by hand too, because I'm obviously incapable of doing such things on the computer. It gives you a good idea of where things lie though.

Basement Floor Plan

You will also notice that I coded each picture with a letter that is shown on the floor plan, you know, so the floor plan serves a purpose other than showing my terrible paint skills.

Picture A
Let's begin. As usual, I'm starting with the view from the stairs. Those of you who have been around a while will remember
this view from various other stages. I think the current state is probably the worst ever, and since I gave up on the throwing something out every day, it's no wonder. There are several things on that futon (yes, there is a futon under there) that are just waiting to go to Goodwill. I just haven't dragged my lazy ass down there to load up the truck and take it there.

Picture B
Next is the view of my craft pile. Though still a mess, it looks a lot better than it used to look. I can actually get to most of the stuff without having to dig for it. I have more shelves that just need put together. There is a little glimmer of hope in this mess.

Picture C
This is a view over the futon that was once dominated by toys. I'm happy to say many of the toys are now in a better place, thought there are still many there along with a lot of other mess.

Picture D
Another view of the same area. At least the stuff isn't stacked halfway up the wall like it used to be.

Picture E
Turning 180� from the last picture, you get a previously unexposed view of my basement. The wood base is for our aquarium that I will not allow John to set up because I always end up having to clean the damn thing. He wants the fish, but I get to clean all the green stuff and poo, so I put my foot down when we moved here, and now the base serves as a stand for all these boxes. They have been there since we moved, which is why they seem to be sagging. I should probably just take the boxes and throw them out, contents and all. The problem with that is I know that there are photo albums and school yearbooks in a couple. Maybe this should be the starting point of my cleaning adventure, since it is the longest untouched pile.

Picture F
Here's another brand new view. It's the dreadful laundry room. I'm not going to expose the whole thing just yet. I won't be working on that right now, but I thought I'd show all of the awfulness.

Picture G
The storage room is definitely worse than ever. We've just been throwing things in it. I pulled other stuff out of it, which is now cluttering up other parts of the basement. We often end up blocking access to this little space, so it's easier to just hurl stuff into it and forget about it. I told you� we're pigs.

Picture H
This holds a lot of John's stuff, though there is stuff of my own here as well. This is the area I want cleaned up the most. I want to set up that desk for a scrapbook area and just get the whole corner fixed up for my crafts. I told John he wasn't to stack anything on that desk. At this very moment, there are stacks of baseball cards and various other John stuff all over it. If I weren't guilty of so many sins myself, I'd take an arm and just sweep everything off the desk onto the floor.

Picture I
CDs, computer parts, cassettes, some sewing stuff, old band stuff, and lots of stuff that I won't even guess. Most of it John's. It makes me growl to look at it.

Picture J
More computer parts, lots of papers, empty boxes, Christmas d�cor (Isn't my wreath pretty? I made that.), and more stuff I won't guess.

That's the tour. Makes you feel pretty good about yourself, doesn't it? I would like to have weekly progress reports, but I'm not saying I'll do it, or it will never happen. Now that I've revealed what a slob I really am, I think I'm going to work on changing that. Right now.


Previous|Next

One year ago
I Am Not a Role Model - "I am a 32-year-old, stay at home mother of two, and I just had cookies for breakfast."

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >