Progress?
3 May, 2001 - 11:56 a.m.

Progress?

For a while, I worked really hard on my basement. Then I slacked, and now I don't do anything at all. I'm getting the itch to get back down there again. I don't know why I seem to rather do it when the weather is nice than when it's all crappy. It doesn't make much sense to lock myself in a dark basement when the weather is just begging me to dig in the dirt, but things need done down there more than outside.

NowThen
Sadly, I think I've made progress. I'm not claiming a lot of progress but progress. I have a very long way to go, but there is actually room to sit on the futon now if you have little butts like my kids, and there aren't any empty boxes or boxes full of packing paper anymore. I got rid of tons of stuff, and it still looks pretty atrocious. It's really quite amazing that we have as much stuff as we do in such a small area.

NowThen
It's also amazing to me how that stuff seems to grow no matter how much I throw away. The craft pile doesn't look any smaller, but I swear I threw out a whole truckload of junk. I have yet to get rid of the broken television, but it's holding things up. I've obviously moved stuff around a lot, but it certainly doesn't look any better than it did before. How does that happen? I really must make improvements. It's been months!

NowThen
And the toy section doesn't look any different. My God. Do you know how many toys I've given and thrown away in these last few months, yet it looks like I didn't even touch that area? How can that be? I am doomed. Someone put some kind of voodoo hex on me, and I'm just doomed to be buried under a mountain of clutter as long as I live. I don't even think having my house burn down will save me.

I know what I'll be doing today. Hopefully I can put up some pictures of a new and improved basement very soon. Believe me. The rest of my house really isn't this bad. It's not beautiful and orderly, but it's certainly not this horrendous. Thank God. I'd lose my children in a mess like that.


Previous|Next

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >