Ten, Eleven, Twelve...
2 November, 2000 - 8:54 AM

High school began with none of those friends. Sue and Carla moved away and Sheri went to the high school across town, even though she didn't want to. I had to start over again. I became friends with Carolyn and maintained that friendship throughout high school. I don't remember what year Amy came into the picture, but she did, and I had another threesome friendship. I'm sure my first boyfriend didn't help me bond with them very well, and neither did the second boyfriend. Amy and Carolyn were closer with one another than with me. They kept in touch with each other after high school. I didn't. I didn't keep in touch with anyone.

I didn't go to my ten year reunion because I really didn't care. At first, I thought I wanted to go, but as the registration deadline drew nearer, I became less and less interested. The lack of interest, combined with a lack of cash and an overabundance pounds, sealed the deal. I don't think I missed anything, but I won't know. After speaking with one of the organizers for another class' reunion, I'm rather happy I didn't go. She said the other former cheerleader organizers wanted to give an award to whoever gained the most weight. Nice to see some people never change.

That stuff has nothing to do with my friendships, but since the high school years were more about the beginning of my romantic life, there isn't much to say. I had fun in high school. I had good friends. I wouldn't go back. Especially when going back would mean living through the next portion of my life: The Hell Years. No, thank you.


Previous|Next

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >