Why My Dad Should Work Somewhere Else
02 November, 2004 - 9:03 a.m.

Hey! This journal is still gimping along. Thanks to my journal friends who left me messages!

So... I don't know if I ever said my dad works for a major hard drive manufacturer. Of course, because of that, I tried to remain loyal to the brand, and every time we bought a hard drive, we bought those. Maybe about three years ago, the first one died. I lost about 300 pages of a journal I was working on for Hammy, documenting everything I remembered from just before pregnancy. We bought a new hard drive of the same brand. Lightning wouldn't strike twice, after all. Right?

It did. About a year and a half ago the second drive had some kind of hardware failure. I lost more journal stuff, but fortunately, I had most of it in hard copy. I was getting smarter. We bought a whole new computer that just happened to have the same brand hard drive.

About 3 weeks ago, that hard drive died. I lost all the work I was doing on my new business. I obviously hadn't learned my lesson all that well, because I hadn't backed it up. I did have hard copies of most of it, and the work on the website had been posted online, so it didn't take as long as it could have to recover from that. The backup drive made by a competiter was perfectly fine.

I told my dad about each of these failures. He suggested I not buy any more of their drives. We didn't. This time we bought a Sony Vaio computer to replace the piece of poo HP we had. It doesn't have the brand of hard drive that has failed us so many times. I also bought a thumb drive and back up my work faithfully. Dad feels guilty and said he would send us a few drives that he had. While a nice gesture, I don't trust them.

Another problem created by this hard drive fiasco is I've had to reregister iTunes more times than they allow. They did resolve things after the second hard drive failure, but I doubt they are going to believe we had another one. All I can do is try. I sure hope they believe me. Maybe I'll direct them here.

I'm going to try to transfer my pictures and such to my new webspace, so this diary will look decent again. Right now, there are a lot of other things on my plate requiring my attention. Biggest of these is my new business at Libby Creek where I launched a homemade soap business. Look at the About page to see a brief description of how that started. And if you find boo-boos on the pages, please email me.

Until next time, and who knows when that might be...

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >