The Reprieve You Can't Enjoy
3 May, 2005 - 12:58 a.m.

Neighbor Beast Child didn't end up coming. It's been over a week her mom has been home. Booie said her dad had been in the hospital for a blood clot. It's hard to be happy I'm getting relief because her dad is ill. The relief is welcome though.

Especially this morning. I spent the whole day feeling even worst than yesterday. These stupid colds have been knocking me on my ass. Hammy and Booie managed to go to school with it while I barely get off the couch to go to the bathroom. I dozed off and on all day, but I don't sleep well. Which is why I'm up so late. But I think I'm going to try sleeping now. The nighttime cold medicine (generic Nyquil) seems to be kicking in, and I broke down and used nasal spray. I can breathe through both nostrils at the same time! It's the little things.

11:14 p.m. - Inching Toward Wellness

I took a shower today, and I went out of the house. I also slept about three hours soon after breakfast. So I am getting better, but I'm still not great. I really hope tomorrow is a bigger improvement. I feel like I'm falling so far behind on exercise, even though I only missed one strength session on iShape.

The good thing is I haven't eaten much while sick, so I really shouldn't gain from not exercising. I think I'll be fine as along as I get back to the program as soon as I can. I think tomorrow will be OK for me to walk a little. I really want to get to the grocery store, so we can start eating better and save some money too.

I couldn't resist checking the scale today, because I really felt like I lost more. I was down to 199.5 this morning! I was so happy not to see a two at the beginning of my weight for the first time in over a year. It was 200.5 before bed, but that doesn't bother me. I know I was there, if even for a little bit. I'll be down there for good soon enough. And not too long before I've lost 20 pounds! I feel like I finally have some momentum and the same determination as when I've done well before.

It's definitely more about health than it's ever been. I've never had high blood pressure before, and I keep hearing all kinds of things about how bad it is. There was a doctor on Oprah today that said BP should be your number one concern of all the numbers, over cholesterol or anything. He showed an artery and kidneys damaged from high BP. It's better I pay attention and jump on it now while it's at the beginning.

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >