Over and Over and Over
05 September, 2005 - 9:22 a.m.

My official weigh-in is usually Sunday, but after that cookout this weekend, I knew I was retaining something. I think I was right too, because I dropped 2.5 pounds in one day. I'm now down a half pound from last week, when I also weighed on Monday because I forgot on Sunday. My subconscious must have known there was bad news because I weighed 1.5 pounds more than the week before. That put me two pounds over goal for that week. I'm still two pounds over this week. Even with my easy goal rang of one-half to one pound loss each week, I'm already off target.

It's so frustrating. When I was slacking, I gained about three pounds and stayed steady after that. When I started working out again, I gained. And gained. And gained. It never used to be that way, but in the past couple years, when I try to lose weight, I gain instead. Then I level off and finally start losing. But it's so slow and discouraging for all of that to happen. I supposed that's even more incentive to just stick with it.

The one thing that still seems to work well is Tae-Bo. Maybe it's really in my head, but it always seems when I do that, I lose. I did it once this week to get back into it. I'll continue that and see if I can't have a good week that gets me back in goal range.

I'm still doing the walking even on the days I Tae-Bo. I really want to build up that endurance slowly, like I'm supposed to do and then start running. I want to work up to running and then work on improving that. I've always gotten impatient in the past and advanced too quickly. This time, I'm really holding back and doing it right. Maybe this way I really will be ready for a race. And I so want to do that Flying Pig.

I have never stuck to a training program when I'm going to race. Not for any one of them have I been faithful. The only time I stuck to anything, really stuck, was when I did Tae-Bo for a long time. But that wasn't for a race or any deadline. I just want to do it right for once.

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >