My Brother Is Coming!
06 June, 2002 - 8:37 a.m.

My Brother Is Coming!

But first, a short aside... My neighbor and I were talking on the street corner after our kids had gone to school. She said she had been meaning to tell me she thought I looked good and looked like a lost weight. (Guess what shorts I was wearing?) At the time, I was shocked and flattered, but as I wolfed down a couple granola bars and a big glass of chocolate milk later for breakfast and wanted more, I thought, I look skinnier. I'll just have the rest of the carton of chocolate milk. And that, my friends, is why I am still fat.

I am finally feeling well again after being sick as a dog when I came home from vacation and all. I started feeling better yesterday, and it's just in time, because I have to clean my pigsty of a house. My brother is going to stop by tonight for the first time since I moved out here four years ago. He had to go to Washington D.C., and he's staying here for the night on his way back home. I'm really excited he's coming, even if it is only for a night. We've never been exactly close as siblings, but as we get older, we've both settled down some and let go of most of the grudges. He even called me on my birthday while I was down in North Carolina. If that isn't bonding, I don't know what is.

He's certainly not the king of cleanliness, and he probably wouldn't care a stitch how my house looks, but since I've been sick since I've been back, the house is taking on an extra shabby look. My brother knows I'm not clean like our mom (I wouldn't be afraid to eat off her floor), but I don't want to show him how messy I can be either. Plus, he's a guest, and you have to clean up for guests.

So that is going to be my day today, which makes for no time to do a decent vacation recap or post any pictures. I have to go grocery shopping too, so we have something to eat for dinner. My brother can eat out anywhere. If he's visiting, I'm cooking. It's going to be a long, long day.


Previous|Next

One year ago
Suffering for the Greater Good - Having a sore ass sends me out to buy a bike seat.

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >