One Answered Prayer
07 October, 2005 - 10:20 p.m.

I found my wedding ring yesterday! I started cleaning my room quite diligently, vacuuming with pantyhose over the nozzle, checking every pair of shoes, going through piles and boxes. I was taking everything out of every container there was and going through all I took out. I was coming up empty and the worries that it ended up in the trach or a bag of stuff I gave away were surfacing again. I don't know why I decided to check the powder box for the third, or maybe it was even the fourth, time, but I had a feeling, just like I had the other times I looked. This time, I moved the puff over, and I thought I saw a glint, so I dug into the puff, and there it was. A wave of sheer joy went over me, and I went bounding out to show John. He was reservedly happy for me, told me he knew I'd find it, just like he said, and then he went into the kitchen. I asked him if I should put it on, to which he answered, "Why not?" I put it on anyway, and it went on without having to rip skin off. I could even get it off again if I wanted, but that's not coming off again unless John leaves me.

That's probably been the bright spot of the week, though that might not be a fair thing to say, since I think it would be my bright spot of the week most weeks. It's a pretty big deal. My point is, this has been a wretched week, and it may be the only truly bright spot in it.

John continues to avoid me near completely. He spends more time on the computer, doesn't even tell me basic things, leaves without saying a word, doesn't look at me. I was painfully reminded of how he said it was the same way with his ex before she came back to Pittsburgh. I don't like this at all, but what can I do? I hope tomorrow puts and end to this.

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >