Haven't you learned?
10 January, 2001 - 10:39 AM

Haven't you learned?

I should know by now that if I don't run a brush through my hair and take my daughter to school looking like that hair is a rat motel, that will be the day Booie wants me to walk her all the way inside the building. I will run into every mom I've ever met. I will have to walk past my son's teacher twice. People will talk to me. I will regret deciding not to even put a hat on.

My hair is unbelievably bad right now. I need to dye my roots. I have about an inch of the incredibly ugly real hair color showing. I also need a hair cut. Split ends are slowly crawling up each hair shaft, making my already near-frizzy hair look even worse. And bangs? I don't even know what those are anymore.

Every few months I debate whether I should try the no-bangs look or not. I'm doing it again. Despite seeing how bad and old I look without bangs, I keep trying it. Just like going to the school with whopped hair, I haven't learned my lesson. I go through all the grief of growing out the bangs only to be reminded that I hate myself without them. It's not that I have a large forehead to hide or anything. It's just something to do with that squarish (or is that heart-shaped?) face that does not look good without bangs. And a lack of bangs also seems to bring out every little line that is slowly deepening in my skin, not to mention most of the lines reside on my forehead. This is the same debate I always have about cutting all my hair off. I grow it, then cut it, then grow it, then cut it. It's a never-ending cycle with the bangs and the short hair.

I'm in the long hair phase of the short/long cycle right now. It always seems like a good idea to do the long hair in the winter and the short hair in the summer. I really love short hair� on anyone but me. Every single time I get my hair cut short, I hate it almost to the point of tears. I have only cried after one hair cut, back when I was in high school. Now, I figure, it's only hair. Maybe I should excise that attitude, because it keeps making me cut my hair too short when I know I look hideous with short hair. I am so jealous of all those girls that can wear their hair short as can be. I always end up looking like someone plopped a wig on a pumpkin.

The only good thing about getting my hair cut short (besides it being much cooler) is that my hair grows pretty quickly. That doesn't do good things for my color though. As I've said before, my real hair color is ugly, not just any ugly, the color "ugly." I, and a few other unlucky people in the world, have rights to the color ugly. I don't know what God was thinking when he allowed that color into the palette of hair, but at least he gave us the means to cover it up. Maybe this color is just a lack of getting our real color before we were born.

I believe I'm a redhead. Except for my ability to tan, I have the complexion of a redhead, freckles and all. As long as I stay out of the sun and use sunscreen judiciously, I can maintain that redhead complexion. Hair stylists have even been fooled into believing I'm a natural redhead. I have to be as judicious in my root coverage as the skin protection though, or the ugly peeks through and gives me away.

I wanted red hair all my life. When I finally got up the courage to dye my hair, I immediately went for a reddish color, and I never looked back. Though I've just about covered the range of colors that come from a box, I always ended up going back to the reds. I got braver through the years until I was a full-on redhead, and I've been that way off and on for a while.

Maybe it's the attention-monger in me that loves red hair so much, but that wouldn't explain my love for it before I ever had it. I do get more attention with this hair than I ever have with any other color (not counting the blue wig). I'm not the only one who loves my hair, but I do get tired of the love sometimes.

  • Yes, I'm glad you love my hair color.

  • No, my kids don't have red hair.

  • Yes, I have been told about 200 times that I look like Ann Margaret. I heard that before I even dyed my hair.

  • No, I don't want to hear a list of all the redheads in your family.

  • Yes, I am Irish, but I'm also Scottish and German and English and French and Native American and a little of this and that.

  • No, you may not touch it.

Except for the touching, probably the question that irritates me the most is, "Is it real?" I understand we live in the information age, but there is still this thing called manners, and last time I checked, it's rude to ask someone if they dye their hair. It could be all the crazy, unreal colors that have caused this question to become more acceptable, but I really think it's the fact that people just don't care if they are rude or not anymore.

My initial desire when someone asks me if my hair is real is to give them a snippy remark, but I have this nagging angel on my shoulder that always makes me feel like I have to tell the truth. As much as I want to say yes and just move on, I usually tell a partial lie and say it's enhanced. That answer usually saves me the trouble of explaining what my real hair color is, so they can know exactly how fake I really am and then asking me what color I use, etc. I don't have the time or inclination to sit there and give my entire hair history to some stranger. Plus, it's really hard to explain the color ugly, unless the person before me has it too. As much as I would like to say, "I hate my real color. It's just like yours," I'm nice.

My being nice has kept me from saying a lot of things. To the guy in the theater who came from across the room to ask me if my hair was real, "Are you really bald?" To every woman who asked me, "Are those your real breasts?" or "Have you had a face lift/liposuction/any kind of cosmetic surgery?" To anyone, "Why don't I just strip for you, so you can see for sure?" or "Why don't you ask me if I'm pregnant too?" or just, "Damn, that's rude!" Instead I just smile and say, "Not quite," which seems an unexpected enough answer to get the hell out of there before they drill me with more questions.

I wish I was a real redhead who could give a snarky, "Yes!" every time someone asks me that question. Instead I'm an overly honest uglyhead who probably pisses redheads off by trying to be one of them. I bet redheads really hate the fact that they were born with such beautiful hair, but someone can just go to a salon or a drugstore and be one of them. At least they can take satisfaction in knowing the torture someone like me goes through every time I'm asked if my hair is real.


Today I got rid of:

More empty boxes (I think they multiply like rabbits)


Previous|Next

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >