The Master Plan
10 May, 2001 - 11:33 a.m.

The Master Plan

Yesterday I asked John if he had anything planned for this Saturday.

John: No, you told me to block it off.
Cindy: I did?
John: Yes, you said you'd cut my balls off if I scheduled anything for that day.
Cindy: I did not.
John: You did too. It's the weekend before vacation.
Cindy: Oh my God!

Even though I've been talking about vacation all week long, it just dawned on me that it's really upon us. I made John leave this weekend open so I can get things done. I'm not even ready to start! That conversation sent me into a panic, because I am really unprepared, and there are only seven full days left in which I can do things. I haven't even started the vacation list.

Every year, I must have a list of things to bring on vacation. Every year, I lose the list from the prior year and must start from scratch. I don't even have a base list of things I take no matter where I'm going or what I'm doing. I have been making a stupid list for the past five years at least, because I'm too much of an idiot to make a Word document or even a lousy test file to tell me what I need to bring. This is how organized I am.

Granted, I usually figure out vacation is right on my doorstep about three days before we leave, so I'm really ahead of the game this year. Still, I could do myself a lot of favors by making this list more permanent.

I suddenly realized I haven't reserved a space for Kaya at the kennel. We're checking out another kennel this time. The last time was fine, but it's a bit far, and this other kennel includes playtime in the daily fee whereas we had to pay extra last time. Reducing costs are very good considering she will have to be in the kennel for ten days.

Ugh. I'm having some serious stress time here. I can't think, so I need to get busy and get some of this out of my system. This is definitely a good day for running. I can use the break.


Previous|Next

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >