Accomplishing Nothing
11 June, 2005 - 11:36 p.m.

I did a lot of kid-toting today. I also did some shopping for clothes which wasn't as painful as usual. I managed to pick clothes that didn't look like hell on me, and I was a consistent size 14 instead of the 16-pushing-18. I guess I better get back on the treadmill before I lose everything I worked for. It's been too long.

I feel like I did a ton today, but so little got done. I was so ready to charge forth, but it didn't happen. I was tired from not getting a lot of sleep, and I spent so much time in the car. Hammy had a graduation party to attend. We went looking for some foam beforehand because he wanted to make giant horns for the girl's car. He and his friends call her Satan. She was one of the drum majors for marching band, and they always joked about how evil she was and that she collected the souls of band members. They never quit calling her Satan even after marching band was over. The funny thing is, they saw an old video at the party today of her as a sheep in the Christmas Nativity play. There was a blanket that was supposed to be made from her wool as a gift for Jesus. Well, it seems Little Satan smothered Baby Jesus with her gift, pushing it over his head and holding it down before finally pulling back. Satan's family then agreed Satan was an appropriate nickname. Such remarkable irony doesn't come around often enough.

Hammy and I didn't find the right stuff to be making horns in thirty minutes (and it was such a grand idea, oh well), so it was back home for him to pick up his card and then we picked up his friends too. Got lost due to Hammy's suggestion we take a different way than the posted detour. I had to turn around three times, pissed off several other drivers, and ran a red light. I'm sure my driving made a grand impression on his friends. Hammy's navigating certainly did. I learned never to depend on him for directions unless he knows exactly where he's going. Once he told me to turn after I passed the intersection. I took my way home which took half the time and never had me turning around. I made sure to point out how easy and well-marked with signs pointing to the party it was when I picked up Hammy.

I had to make the rounds to all the kids' houses again and took them over to one of Hamm's friend's houses, where they were staying the night. I didn't mind doing any of it, but it was time-consuming.

John took Booie to a birthday party when I got home, then he and I headed to the mall where we ate, and I spent my birthday gift card on clothes. I'm kind of excited about wearing something tomorrow on our big day (anniversary).

I brought up the subject of gifts by asking if he got anything. He said he didn't because I never answered when he asked about it earlier. I was quite relieved. I suggested we just do something together and forget gifts. He asked about forgetting cards too, but that's going too far for me. Bad enough that we never take pictures to commemorate the event. We have to have something.

The rest of the evening, we watched the Indy Car race because the Nascar Busch race was rained out. I can't believe I'm watching Nascar now. I'm so ashamed.

It looks like tomorrow will have to be a celebration of laundry as well as marriage. I don't know that I'll be cleaning though. Just doesn't seem right.

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >