Too Much Bleach, Too Little Time
11 August, 2001 - 1:00 a.m.

Too Much Bleach, Too Little Time

I should be sleeping, but I figure if I try to lie down, I won't sleep anyway, so why bother? It's not like the cleaning I've been doing instead of trying to sleep is hurting anything anyway. I will feel a lot more comfortable tomorrow when everyone comes over, and my kitchen is sparkling clean. No one will be afraid to eat the food that way. A clean kitchen is always a good thing.

It's not like the kitchen was a pit of despair before I started cleaning, but it was due for a good scrub-down. I wiped walls and mopped and cleaned out the refrigerator. I even washed the garbage can, and I can't say I remember the last time I did that. Old food was thrown out, though there really wasn't that much. The drip pan to the fridge even got cleaned as did the floor underneath the fridge, which hasn't seen the light of day in over a year. I don't know why I went hog wild like I did, but it sure looks good in there.

Fortunately, the rest of the house is in pretty good shape. The desk is really the only place full of clutter. The sofa and love seat could have used a date with the vacuum cleaner, especially considering John's allergic cousin, but I can't do it all. He can go outside. The porch is getting a minor overhaul tomorrow morning. It has served as a depository for toys, plants, gardening tools, animal food, and anything else that didn't have a home or we were too lazy to put away. I haven't spent much time out there. It's been too hot or too cold most of the time.

I never did finish shampooing my carpet. I did get my vacuum cleaner fixed for a meager $87 after I bought bags and belts for the thing. I would have put that expense off but for the fact the dog is still shedding. After a couple of days without vacuuming, the fur just starts wadding up on its own, and I can pick up the clumps. It's just nasty. So I had to pry open my purse and pay for a new fan. I was happy when I found a new bag and belt on the machine and all the scratches buffed out of the chrome. Service is such a nice thing.

Sadly, the vacuum cleaner store is one of the few places where I experience decent service. I feel like an old lady when I say that, but the average salesperson or cashier is usually a big grump that can't wait for the end of the shift. Teenagers are too busy chatting with their friends or wishing they could be chatting with their friends. Older people are more like robots, just doing the job. No wonder I hate shopping.

When I do find an establishment with good service, I will return as faithfully as the family dog. Dunkin Donuts employees know my son and me and always treat us nicely. I give tips there, even though I don't usually tip when I'm being served to-go items. One of the cashiers at Target knows me and is very friendly whenever I stop. The guys at Sheetz notice when I don't have kids in tow. I'm writing a letter to Kennywood, the local amusement park, because a girl at the fry stand went out of her way to find a special sold-out cup for Booie. That was a really nice thing to do, and I want to make sure she's recognized for it. I go out of my way for those that treat me well. I don't think enough people do that.

I'm like many people though, and I too am quick to complain when something doesn't go my way. It's the world we live in. Everything is now, overnight, 24-hour, where you want it, when you want it, quickest, fastest, easiest. Life is more about who can get things done first and with the least effort, not necessarily whom does the best job. I'm trying to be more patient and not so rushed about everything. Life is stressful enough without that frantic pace.

Yes, there is great irony in my saying that as compared to my to-do list right now. I have a million things going on, and I don't feel like it's all going to get done. I'm still working on the patience. I haven't exactly fully achieved it yet. My wishing the stupid dishwasher would hurry up and finish so I could lie down is a perfect example of that, but it's my stupid self to blame because I started it too late. Disorganization is an ugly thing.

And now that I've run out of things to say, I'll just go wait on that dishwasher and try to stay awake some other way. I certainly can't do any more thinking right now. I think my brain is getting mushy from sniffing bleach fumes too much.


Previous|Next

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >