Marriage Counseling, Round 2
11 September, 2005 - 11:31 p.m.

We went to our first session yesterday. I was immediately put off when I saw her Reiki certificates on the wall and table for practicing Reiki in the corner of the room. I wondered what John was thinking, but of course, he gave no indication. The therapist seemed nice enough though, and I wasn't going to discount her PhD just becuase of her alternative practice. She interviewed us, going over our family history, why we were there, previous counseling, and such, which took up the whole time. I was glad to have that foundation set before jumping in, something our previous therapist didn't do. She had us do personality tests, and that was it. Our first session with her, we just were supposed to start talking. This therapist seems to have more structure, and I like that. We got homework too, which I also liked. I feel more focused and oriented with her already. John liked her better too, so it looks good so far.


I'm wide awake. I guess yesterday's all-afternoon nap is affecting me today instead of yesterday. I suppose I should have just gotten up at 7:45 a.m. when I woke up the first time. I don't know that it would have mattered much though. I'm sure the late evening organizing didn't help either. I just hope I won't be a zombie tomorrow morning. I want to start early and get a lot done. I have too many plans to be drooling in front of the TV all day.

I'm going to try some reading. It's my before sleep ritual, so maybe that will get me on the right track. Don't know what I'll do if that doesn't work. Probably shouldn't keep lying here, but I'll try that first.

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >