A Room for Booie
14 June, 2005 - 8:42 a.m.

We're getting the paint for Booie's room today. Still not even sure what colors we're getting except yellow. There's going to be a yellow background for most of it unless she's changed her mind on that too. I doubt it, but you never know. She is my daughter. One wall at least is going to be big polka dots. The other main wall will be stripes. I still have to figure out what to do with the bed. We'll be painting furniture too, even though I really like the white. It's not like it's great stuff, and she wants it painted. It will end up being cute, so that's OK. Wish I brought colored pencils, so I could figure some of it out. She's got a lot of blue with her comforter and canopy thing. I'd rather the background not be yellow, but it's her favorite color and her room. She'll get what she wants. Maybe a primary scheme would be cool, though I really like green and purple. Orange is always nice with the blue too. So many ideas, so little skill and money.

2:51 p.m. - Public Limitations

When I was writing previously, I was sitting in Pep Boys, surrounded by men while my car was inspeted. Didn't want to write much of anything. I never know if other's vision is as good as my own. While I may post on the internet, I have yet to face anyone who reads this stuff that write an online journal themselves. It's funny how it's a different kind of public too. And I don't like writing when someone is reading over my shoulder. Online, I can edit. In person, I'd have to poke someone in the eye. It was getting crowded in there.

I'm having a surprisingly good day, though I was up until after 3 AM with a wicked headache. I gave in and took some Vicodin I had left over from my wisdom teeth extraction (still unpaid, by the way). I'd only taken one then, so it's obvious I am reluctant to take such things. Heck, I have to be worst than I should be to take Advil, so taking narcotics is a huge deal for me. The Advil hadn't even faded the headache though. It was so bad, I was ready to wake John up to drive me to the ER if the strong stuff didn't work. The Vicodin did enough that I could sleep, even though I still ached quite a bit. I really have to remember to bring these headaches up to the doctor next time.

They're different than migraines in that thy are often gone by morning but can return in the evening. I can usually tell if it will, and this one is definitely going to have an encore. I feel uncomfortable in my eye by this time of day, and it just continues to worsen. I typically can feel something there in the morning when it's making a comeback. And there is nothing at all I can do. From what I've read, these seem to be cluster headaches, but I still don't have that MD, so who knows. I always thought they were migraines because of the excutiating pain and the location, but cluster headaches are different. Unfortunately, they seem to be harder to prevent and treat too. But at least I can get through today.

Booie is hard at work cleaning her room, so we can start painting. We got the ceiling color and the base color, since that is what we have to do first. She's very excited, and I am too. It's going to be so fun when it's done. If she keepit it up, we may be painting before the day is over.

She did decide on yellow for the main color, so we got a bright yellow for the walls and a shade lighter for the ceiling. We chose shades of pink, blue, green, orange, and purple for the spots and stripes. I think having all blue for the bed will help keep it from getting too overwhelming. We can decide what to do with the furniture once we're done to make sure we don't overdo it too. It's quite the project.

My mom never would have done this. When I did get to redo my room, she had the power to veto and wielded it mightily. No Kliban cat wallpaper for me, though wallpaper I can understand. But color was no different. I ended up with mom-approved flower wallpaper and cream walls for the rest. Dark and light wine bedding and curtains completed my blandness, which I actually liked. I later added some of my black and white designs for art which was pretty cool. That was the last real desigining of a room I ever did until we moved here.

Now I can say I'm a grown-up. We bought real furniture that we didn't put together and came from a real furniture store. I painted my living room a true camel, not som pussy beige or wheat or other practically off-white color. The hall is celery. The dining room will soon be something a little darker than sage. The basement family area is light blue. I'm going to refinish the wood floors, paint my kitchen, build a patio, and do some landscaping. I'm acting like a real homeowner. Well, one who cares. When did I mature?

There is still plenty of clutter and mess though, so I'm just a little mature. I'm getting there though. My first project in getting my house in order is the laundry room. It has become a depository of many things that should be gone. And of course, there is the great mountains of laundry, some of which can only be done at the laundromat. So I think I'll make a trip there tomorrow after I make my second visit to Pep Boys to get the truck inspected. I'll be up and out anyway, so it seems a good time. I hope the laundromat has more than one big washer and dryer. I have at least two sleeping bags to be washed.

I haven't done any laundry yet today, and since that's a priority, I better get it going. It could have been running while I was writing here, but that would make sense. And I would have had to think about it. Which I didn't.

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >