Brain Litter
15 April, 2003 - 5:18 p.m.

Let's see... I only have a few minutes before John gets home. He went to cosign for his mom to get an apartment, so his parents are definitely seperating now. I guess his dad can't quit talking about the other woman, and that's not flying with his mom. It wouldn't fly with me either. He's an idiot to think that is even remotely acceptable. He says he knows where his place is and that he wants to stay with his family, but then he goes and blabs to his wife about his mistress. I love the guy, but man! He needs slapped a few times or something.


I am doing my best to update here at least once a week. It's not so easy to do when there is so much going on. I've been reading like mad, just finishing Lucky by Alice Sebold after having read The Bell Jar in a day. Now I'm without a book again, and as usual, it's killing me. I've been checking BookCrossing obsessively to see if I can snag a freebie, but I missed the one day there was one right by me in Montefiore Hospital. I really have to start checking the site before I go home from work.

Reading isn't taking up all that much of my time though. It's exercising that has me busier than I was. I've been updating my fitness journal like crazy to keep track of everything, but it's mostly boring stuff like what I did or how much weight I lifted. I have actually exercised five days in a row up to today, something I haven't done in ages. I've been running, TaeBo-ing, hiking, walking, and skating. The only thing I haven't managed to do is get on my bike, which I have plans to do pretty soon. It just needs a Spring tune-up as does my nerve. I have those same worries about how foolish I'll look on a mountain bike and how horrible I'll be. Don't worry. I'll get past it. It might take a bit though.

All that exercise does have me down in size, but the scale has done little movement. I suppose that's not so bad. I have even been doing strength training, so I would guess that means I'm building muscle while losing fat. And if my size goes down, then I'm doing great!


We go to counseling tonight. We missed last week because of the Pirates home opener. The last time was a rough one for John as she's been focusing on him more. It's kind of like individual counseling for him with me there to keep the ball rolling. We've been doing very well marriage-wise, addressing issues before they become explosive and expressing ourselves better. I still feel a bit like it's just a matter of time before John submerges in something again, and I'm left feeling lonely and sad. It's not the best outlook for me to have, but it's clear in these past couple sessions that he has unresolved issues. He's doing well though, even if he is exhausted when we leave.

I haven't addressed my own feelings of discontent about my life yet. I'm putting it off again. Maybe I should give myself a deadline, so I'll have a little movement rather than sitting here doing nothing. Stagnation is never good for me, like it's good for anyone.


Hammy is going through his annual Spring-time Lying and Laziness Extravaganza. We found out he was failing Math until we cracked the whip and got him to make up the two tests he hadn't done. We got a letter in the mail from his teachers explaining what a lazy-ass he's been lately, not doing homework and making excuses. I hate to say I'm getting used to it, but this is the fourth year in a row he got this way at the same time of year. I really have to be extra vigilant at this time next year. The boy didn't even have one A on this quarter's report card, and he has no good reason except that he "doesn't feel like doing it." It's a wonder children ever make it to adulthood.


John was home sick today, partly because he's sick as a dog and partly because he hadn't finished our taxes. He was putting it off until today because when he did the inital figures, he calculated we owed over $1000. I found out he hadn't itemized and demanded he do so. That is one of the benefits of home ownership after all. I threatened that I would not sign our return if he did not refigure the taxes. Today, in his sickened state, he finally dug up the paperwork on the house and figured it up. You know what he said to me? "I owe you a big you're right." He certainly does! We owe almost nothing now. I think I deserve a little shopping spree for that holdout.

So happy tax day to everyone. I hope you're all getting money back, unlike us. And if you owe like we do, I hope you owe less than you thought.

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:
Nothing... I obviously didn't like tax day in year's past

|

< previous | next >