Doing What I Do Not Like
15 September, 2005 - 10:23 a.m.

I'm gearing up for grocery shopping. I've been thinking about it since Booie left for school two and a half hours ago. Why is grocery shopping so dreadful? It's usually not as bad as I anticipate, but sometimes it is. And even when it's not bad, I don't like it. I should look into delivery. It's probably still cheaper than going out to eat all the time.

I have my fitness test on the treadmill today, which I'm also dreading. I don't know why since I have been working out at least a month. I should score at least as well as the first time I did it in March. I hope. I may have been in slightly better shape then, but I wasn't walking on the treadmill up until that point either. My recent workouts on the tread may have given me a leg up.

I do look forward to working out today. I weighed in at a new low this morning, which gave me even more incentive to keep up what I'm doing. The scale seems to finally be going in the right direction! I'll do that half marathon yet.

I decided to take care of the grocery shopping before working out. I planned to go after working out every day since Monday, and that clearly hasn't worked. Tuesday, I thought I'd do it for sure, since I was out already for Red Cross orientation. The timing just didn't work out though. So I'm trying a different strategy today. The list is made, and I'm dressed. I just have to put my face on.

Yesterday, I started off strong too, but no go. I did weights early while watching the Tivo-ed Dr. Phil from Tuesday. Then I sat down and watched the current Dr. Phil. Then I ate lunch. Then I wasted time on the computer. Then I finally worked out. By that time, the kids were due home, so I greeted them. Took a much-needed shower after that, then wrote and rested, nearly falling asleep. I considered going grocery shopping after dinner, but that didn't happen, even though we had only a swallow of milk left. That is, sadly, a very typical day.

I do have to point out I am doing very well with strength training. I am not even close to where I was when I quit, but doing it on schedule is even better than it was the last time. It's only week two, but I started off right. I rarely managed MWF before, but I'm doing well with it now. So far. I do like it better too. No more working out in front of John. And there's less pressure when I'm not thinking I have to do it or I'll ruin my week.

I thought about getting my hair cut today. I don't even remember the last time I had it cut. I've been trimming it myself, but there's only so much I can do, or will do. Ruining my hair is not a good way to go. I keep split ends in check, but I'm looking a little rough I think. John has an elementary reunion coming up, and I'd like to look as nice as I can for that. I'll see how today goes. Maybe I'll dye my hair first, then get it cut. That seems like a good idea.

Anyway, if I don't get moving, Hammy will be home, and I won't have gone to the grocery store again. Worse, I wouldn't have worked out either. I'd like to talk about rewards for my self-improvement efforts, but that will have to wait

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >