Milk Warning Labels
17 November, 2000 - 11:38 AM

Milk Warning Labels

Funky MilkI opened the fridge this morning to get some milk for my coffee, and I found this.

Notice the note on the milk jug.

I haven't seen a note on anything in a fridge since I lived at home with my parents and my mom used to put "Do Not Eat" labels on things she made for potlucks. She had to. We were wolves.

So when I saw this note, I laughed my ass off. j wrote it. He must have had enough of the "disgusting milk", decided it unfit for consumption and labeled it appropriately, with a flourish. I wonder how he really feels about that milk. Heh.Warning Label

It wasn't until I poured my own glass of milk last night that I realized it was a little funky. I did have a glass the day before, but I attributed the taste to the medication I was on and thought nothing more of it. The kids had the milk for dinner and breakfast and never uttered a word. I figured it had to be just me. But when I took a swig of that glass of milk last night, I knew it couldn't just be me, so I asked j, and he confirmed the milk was funked. And here these kids were drinking this stuff all that time and not saying anything!

The milk isn't sour or spoiled at all. It even smells ok. It's just funky. Maybe the cows got into a little weed or there was an overdose of bovine growth hormone. Whatever it is, the shit is nasty. At least for drinking. j gave his stamp of approval for use in cereal. I even had some in cereal the day before and never noticed any trace of the funk. It was its pure, undiluted form when you could appreciate the full funkiness of it. The only reason I didn't dump the milk was because I figured they could use it for cereal, and I would get new milk the next day. j must have changed his mind.

The more I think about it, I should have just dumped the stuff. Who knows what the hell is in it, and I'm letting my kids use it? This isn't the first time I've proved less than good at motherhood. At least j knows better and lets everyone else know it too.


Today I got rid of:

(Day 3, and I'm still at it!)

Another shopping bag
Big bag full of grocery bags
Two pairs of holey jeans
Unraveled ponytail holder
Rusted butterfly clip
Never used calling card
Shload of Longaberger catalogues and flyers
Another pack of LB catalogues

Had to dig watercolor set out of garbage after L cried


Previous|Next

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >