Neverending Stupidity
20 January, 2003 - 4:00 p.m.

Got home from work really early today due to a combination of patient cancellations and the doctors across the hall from us having the day off. I didn't even get in until 10:45 AM because the kids had a two hour delay for school, and I stayed home with them until they went in. I worked a whopping four hours. Pretty skimpy when I usually work ten. I have to take advantage of it while I can. I'm still on my probationary period, so I'm not charged with paid time off until I'm considered active. I probably won't be taking so many early days when it cuts into my vacation time.

It also worked out well to come home early because I feel like poo. I overindulged at my brother-in-law's birthday party Saturday night. I told myself I would never lose count of my drinks again, but I did. I ended up sleeping on the floor by the bed for half the night and spent most of the day Sunday in bed. I finally felt like I wouldn't hurl or fall over sometime after 4 PM. John is amazed at my stupidity. I think I'm going to have to make him count drinks for me from now on.

At least I'm entertaining when I'm drunk. Before I went home and passed out on the floor, I managed to sing my lungs out, I'm sure to the chagrin of everyone there. I can sing OK, but I doubt I can sing very well when drunk. We always think we're better than we really are when impaired by alcohol. We also do things for which we will later pay. I taught my daughter and two nieces how to bang their head to music. My neck still aches from that. I compared stretch marks with another woman there too, and we both did a little Tae-bo kicking. I'm still embarassed that I acted such an idiot, and no one even said anything to me. Hopefully they were all drunk enough that they didn't notice what a fool I was. At least I have the sense not to be playing strip poker, which is something my sister-in-law cannot say. Thankfully, there was not stripping that night. There are some things in-laws just should not share.

I'm pretty sure that being so drunk brought my immune system way down and allowed the peripheral cold I had Friday and Saturday to fully take hold. I feel mighty crappy today. Yesterday I was hoping it was just part of the hangover, but it isn't. Poor, poor me. Yeah, right. I deserve every bit of misery. Maybe I'll quit being so dumb.

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:
An Artist's Inspiration (from two years ago)

|

< previous | next >