Pain in the Neck
21 January, 2003 - 3:29 p.m.

My neck hurts so bad today I can hardly move it without breaking out in spontaneous tears. It was feeling pretty good by yesterday evening, and I figured I'd feel right next to perfect today. I must have slept in an odd position to compensate for the little bit of ache that was left, because I woke up this morning with what appears to be a pinched nerve. It almost makes me want to drink a whole other bottle of wine just to deaden the pain that a fistful of Motrin and one of those heat pads can't touch. Of course, now that I realize the price of overindulgence has gotten so steep, I certainly won't be doing that. I'm starting to wonder if maybe a few winos weren't just forced to keep drinking to keep from feeling the effects of an aching neck.

I have discovered the joy that is a Thermacare heat pad through this ordeal. Unlike previous times when I had a pinched nerve in my neck, the muscles in that area aren't getting as tense and achy in an attempt to compensate for the nerve pain. This little thing just sticks right on you and heats up to a very comfortable level. I got this as a free sample when I ran the Great Race and never used it. I'd actually forgotten about it for quite a while but found it when digging out the microwave heat pad I have. I shall be investing in more of these glorious inventions. Up to eight hours of heat. No trips to the microwave. No cords. No contortionism to keep yourself in the right position for the pad to stay in place. I hope the maker of this is a very rich person.

You do know that because I haven't been able to do much more than feed myself and couldn't do all the cleaning I planned today that we have someone coming over tonight. I also have to take Booie to a birthday party, John to his counseling appointment, pick Booie up, and finally pick John up. Driving is about the last thing I want to be doing in this condition. I'd rather clean, but I decided to save myself up for driving and forget the cleaning, not that it will really make a difference. I can believe it does.

Once we're home, there won't really even be time to eat before John's friend comes. John knew we had an immensely busy evening in the first place, then he goes and schedules a visitor. I'd like to pinch a few of his nerves.

I thought sitting in our comfy new computer chair might do me some good, but it's doing nothing of the sort. It's back to a horizontal position for me until I have to chauffer everyone all over the place. God, we need a second car.

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:
A Buildup of Crappiness

|

< previous | next >