Presents!
15 March, 2010 - 12:21 p.m.

No cleaning update. That would be because I haven't done any. I was quite lazy the past two days. No running, no cleaning, no cooking. I spent much time under my leopard blanket except for the time I went and bought my new laptop!!!

John bought my birthday present early! Today is his birthday, not mine. He decided to go ahead and get mine now, since we had the money, and he wanted to get mine now. He's like my own personal Oprah. She has said not to wait for special occasions to get things for people. Makes sense, especially when I'm sitting here typing on a lovely, dark red, fast, pretty, Samsung laptop.

I proceeded to buy several books on writing, so I can complete and edit the novel I wrote for NaNoWriMo in November. I didn't write here for nearly a year, but I was writing and completed just over 50,000 words on a novel I don't want to throw away like the last time I did it. I think that was 2003? If I weren't lazy, I could look right here in past entries, but I won't. Not so sadly, the hard drive on which I wrote that last novel crashed. There is a chance to recover it, but I would have to care about it enough to do so.

It may seem like I'm just toddling off into yet another project on which I will waste a lot of money and not complete (soapmaking, quilting, basket sales, and so many others I can't think of them all), but I have dreamed of writing since the third grade when I even won a contest. I'm finally past the idea that I have to be great. I am ready to accept denial and rejection.

Today, after I take John to lunch for his birthday and help Booie bake him a cake, I will begin the character development for my already partially written novel I haven't touched since December 1st. It may be a little backward, but it was an accomplishment just to get those 50K words done. Now it's time to actually write with the help of this beautiful birthday gift.

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:
More Nothing

|

< previous | next >