Gift Exchange
21 December, 2002 - 10:34 a.m.

Gift Exchange

Last year, John and I didn't exchange gifts at Christmas. We were pretty poor and thought it better to get gifts for others than for each other, unlike my sister-in-law this year who divulged her entire financial portfolio showing they are making the same money as last year through email and then said they couldn't afford to get the kids in the family gifts this year. She later talked about going on vacation in the summer which requires a deposit in November. There were a few hurt feelings and little rumbles in the family, but I kept my mouth shut and stayed out of it. I'm done with being in the midst of such things. I pretty much knew where we ranked anyway, so it was no real surprise to me. Plus, I get out of buying four gifts as opposed to her two. Considering the problems I've had with this situation before, it's rather a relief.

But anyway, John and I have occasionally decided not to exchange gifts at Christmas because of money. This year, we have lots of extra money because of me working, so we are going to get one another gifts.

I already got a couple things, and I want to get one or two more, but we'll see. I really want to buy him a watch, but he hasn't worn a watch in all the time I've known him. Ever. He hasn't even owned one. Here and there he has said it would be good to have a watch, but he's so set in his ways and adamant about comfort, that I don't see him adapting to having a watch on. I don't think he's worn a watch in his whole life. So part of me thinks a watch isn't a very good idea and more a gift for me than it is for him. I'd like to see him have a watch, and I really like a lot of the men's watches out there. But I don't want to spend all that money on a watch and then see it sitting on his dresser day after day. I'd rather buy myself a new watch than have that happen. I could use one.

The other thing I'm still considering is some kind of PDA. He's wanted one for a long time. At one time he said he'd take my old one and I could get a new one, but now I don't think he's so keen on the idea. And don't worry... I'm not thinking of buying myself a new organizer and giving him my old one for Christmas. I have some tact. I haven't really shopped at all for organizers though, so I really ought to get to that soon if I'm going to do it. It's probably the best gift I could do, but I'm not sure I have enough cash left for it. I haven't actually thought about it all that much, hence the lateness in shopping and financial considerations.

On John's side of things, he seems to have finally become aware of me when I say I like things at the store. He's been terrible about just buying what he thinks I'd like instead of things I really want. He never paid attention to me when we were wandering around the mall, and I'd point out stuff I liked (just because I liked them, not because I was trolling for gifts). Lots of people talk about what they like and don't like while shopping, and it's something to which I pay attention when I'm with people. Of course, John isn't someone who does those things, which makes him even more of a pain to buy for than he already would be. I'm easy though, but he never caught onto that.

I know he's paying attention this year though, because when I came home a couple days ago with a scarf I really wanted, he chastised me for buying something for myself for Christmas and said, "I guess you won't be getting that for Christmas." Funny, it used to always be me yelling at him for buying himself things before the holidays. I never used to do it, but I grew tired of not getting what I want and didn't want to miss this scarf. It was a gift in itself to know he was actually going to get it for me, and I got pretty darn excited knowing he's been paying attention to things I like this year.

I never really minded not exchanging gifts in previous years, but it's always lots of fun to do when you can. I love shopping for gifts, and despite all my griping about the time it takes to wrap, I love doing that too. So this year is full of fun, and it's thanks in part to that damn job I have now.

Time to put makeup on now. The mirror in the bathroom should be unsteamed from John's shower, and then we go to lunch and to the movie!

One year ago
It Comes and It Goes - "There is nothing but good ahead in the next few days, and maybe if I concentrate on that hard enough, I won't feel so sick."

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >