There's Always at Least One Argument at Christmas
23 December, 2002 - 4:07 p.m.

There's Always at Least One Argument at Christmas

There's nothing like mentioning something to ruin a good thing. I said on my notify list that I would write a daily entry for a week this week, since it's Christmas. Then I have a rotten day yesterday and didn't get on the computer at all. Not like anyone really reads on Sunday anyway.

I got off work way early today, which is great. My boss scheduled the day that way, but then I thought I might have to stay later because our receptionist couldn't come in. I didn't want to leave the other therapist all by himself, even though I'm not his assistant. I do know something about the front desk (finally), so I could be of help. He wasn't going to be there much longer though and sent me home. I was pretty relieved, since I'd told the kids I'd be home early.

Hammy had his first big babysitting assignment today and stayed home with his sister. We have about a million neighbors to call if anything happened, so I wasn't too worried, but I was still a little on edge about leaving them alone. We've left them alone for an hour or two here and there but never for so long. I'm happy to say the house was still on its foundation when I came home, and there weren't any bodies when I walked in the door. They actually get along quite well, but I wasn't sure how it might turn out being gone for six hours instead of just two.

I was also a little leery of leaving Ham home alone after the huge ordeal we had yesterday over the stupid TV remote. He couldn't find it after having used it that morning. I made him look for it, but he argued, then explained then insisted that it was under the couch cushion where I'd already checked. I ended up yelling at him. He cried and gave me his very first "I wish I were dead," threat. It's like one of those moments you write in the black baby book if there were such a thing, which there really should be considering the hell children put their parents through. Anyway, I had a long, long, long talk with him and told him he had to fill an entire notebook page with reasons why his family doesn't suck. Then I went in the bedroom and cried myself for a while, because what mother wants to hear such things from her child?

John and I had a lovely argument to top things off for that wretched day, but he ended up apologizing before he took the kids shopping to buy me gifts. I thought it was probably the worst time of all to be taking Hammy to buy a gift for me. He probably wanted to buy the Voodoo doll kit that we saw at the book store last week. All seemed in better spirits when they got back home, including me, and they gave me a nice bouquet to boot, so it seems all is well again in our household.

I think I am going to try running to the store now to battle the wicked bad traffic again and the expected wicked bad crowds to get my lovely husband a PDA. Then I have to come home and get some more wrapping done. I also hope to get the sugar cookies baked tonight, but that might wait until tomorrow. I'd rather it not, because I will have to bake, cook, frost, and then have the kids decorate said cookies, but it wouldn't be the first time I did a cookie marathon on Christmas Eve. I still haven't sent out all my Christmas cards and never wrote my dumb letter (or photo collage with comments as the case may be). At least I have a better excuse than usual this year.

I'm sure my update of crap I have done and need to do is enthralling, and everyone wants moremoremore, but I'm afraid I have to go. This stuff just won't do itself, as I'm sure you all know.

One year ago
Sugar Cookies - "Since you can't eat the cookies and then ask me for the recipe, just make them yourself."

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >