Aftermath
26 December, 2002 - 10:11 a.m.

Aftermath

We don't have a couples counseling session until January 7th. Maybe it's the stress of the holidays. Yeah, that could be it. Or maybe it's the fact that my dopey husband has been kind of blowing me off for the past few weeks. And I have talked to him about it. And talked some more. And bitched too. But the lure of playing his game, and then yesterday, playing with the gift I got him (for three freaking hours straight!) was too much. But I'm supposed to take that as a compliment, you know, because he liked it so much that he could completely ignore his family for at least three hours on Christmas day.

I decided what I need to invent. There are those LeapFrog toys for kids where you can get the cartridges that hold information you get by linking to the Internet. (Does that make any sense?) I need to make those for husbands. You go online and choose the qualities that need enhanced and download them to one of those cartridges. It would be best if you could just plug the cartridge right into the husband's brain, but since that's not quite possible yet, the husband would just have his own Turbo Twist Relationship device, and he would have to use that to build his skills.

Of course, it could go both ways. Husbands could use it on wives too, or even boyfriends/girlfriends could use it. The only downfall is that it takes a willing party to make it work. I don't think it's such a bad idea though. Relationship skills are just as important as Math, Spelling, and other school subjects. It might have made for a nicer day for me.

On the brighter side, the kids were happy as could be. The living room was covered in torn wrapping paper and boxes. It snowed overnight, so we woke up to a white, if not a little dreary, Christmas. We didn't have to go to anyone's house, so we got to stay home and be bums all day. The kids never got out of their pajamas. I baked the traditional scones for breakfast and made a less traditional potato soup for dinner, and all was delicious, if I do say so myself. Even the dog was thrilled to death and is still working on the fuzzy stuffed moose Hammy bought for her. It's the only stuffed toy anyone got for her that wasn't unstuffed in five minutes flat. I think it's the fuzziness of it that throws her off. I talked to my mom, dad, sister, and even my brother who wished I got to come home this year. It was all I could do not to start sobbing at that rare display of love.

So the day wasn't full of sulking. I kept my mouth shut until the kids were well in bed. I didn't have the worst day ever or anything. It just wasn't all that I would have preferred, and it had nothing whatsoever to do with gifts. At least, gifts of the material sort.

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:
What's Up My Butt

|

< previous | next >