Like Mother, Like Daughter
27 December, 2002 - 3:05 p.m.

Like Mother, Like Daughter

My precious kitty baby has been such a lap cat lately that I worry something is wrong with him. John tells me he's just getting old, and I suppose he is at 10 years, but I've heard of Siamese cats easily living to 18 and 20. He's merely midlife if that's the case. It's very much like me to worry about what really has been a gradual change in behavior, but I don't want anything to happen to my favorite pet (Yes, I do play favorites.) because I neglected a sign. Animals don't have many ways of communicating with us big, hairless apes, so we have to pay attention to the small things.

I already made a call to Booie's doctor to get her seen next week. The poor girl still has trouble with constipation despite being an oatmeal addict and loving fruits and vegetables, including the daily allowance of raisins we've been giving her. She gets lots of stomach cramps and began having problems with leg cramps last week. So I'm worried about her too.

Hammy has a sty in his eye. I don't think that's much to worry about with him. I think he decided life with us isn't so bad either, so he isn't take up much worry space right now.

John quit taking up the majority of my worries too. He's been much nicer and more attentive. I think he realizes spending more than three hours straight with a handheld while completely ignoring your family on Christmas day is not cool. He said we'll talk more about it later, but considering his track record with talking about things later, I rather doubt he will bring it up.

I have a few other little worries that kept me from sleeping last night, like my work email not working, the stupid physical form I have to send in for work that isn't complete because some moron medical assistant didn't mark the results of my TB test in my chart, and the other stupid corporate compliance test I have to take but can't because the link is in my email that I can't open. I worried about this silly stuff until almost two in the morning. I do wish I had a switch to turn off the worry mechanism.

I have zero plans this weekend, so maybe I'll manage to relax a little bit. First I have to make some calls and try to get all these nagging things resolved, so I don't waste my whole weekend fretting.

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:
On the Third Day of Christmas

|

< previous | next >