My Thanks
22 November, 2001 - 11:34 a.m.

My Thanks

I'm thankful I feel almost 100% normal today for the first time since Monday. I'm thankful for a lot of things, but this year, I find myself coming back to Booie's recovery most of all.

There were times I didn't think I'd have my little girl with me this Thanksgiving Day, much less have her be 100% normal today too. When your five-year-old daughter is screaming that she wants to die because she hurts so badly, you find yourself wondering if her wish will come true. What seemed like an endless time in the hospital full of serious tests like bone scans, spinal taps and MRIs of the spine and brain made me wonder what kind of life lay ahead for myself, my family and most importantly, my Booie. She came home unable to walk or even sit. She couldn't go to the bathroom but refused to wear a diaper, so I found myself playing nurse with bedpans along with the many medicines I had to force her to take.

Even in the hospital when none of the nurses or doctors could touch her or even look at her, I had to summon up the strength to straddle my daughter and shoot medicine in her mouth so it didn't have to go in the IV and make it blow again. I had to hold my baby down along with a man from the helicopter crew, so they could take her first spinal tap. I sat with her night after night, getting less sleep than even she did, so I could watch over her and call nurses for more morphine and heat packs. I talked to doctor after doctor, assisted in tests when no one else could get her to do anything, made sure each new person we encountered knew she would not under any circumstances lay on her back, even under heavy sedation. No, she had to be anesthetized. No, I've done this already. No, you can't even try one more time.

I could tell all of them no, but no didn't work when the doctors came in and told me they didn't know what was wrong. Each test would be done, and each time they were the ones telling me no, telling me they didn't know. And each no was a relief, because it meant there was no cancer or no meningitis or no rheumatic fever, but each no was also agony because it meant there was still something wrong, but it was a mystery. It was a mystery pushing the morphine doses higher and making my little girl less and less herself. There were teams and teams of doctors on her case, and no one knew what was wrong. Our regular pediatric group visited every day, consulted one another at their office, stayed up late nights doing research in books and even on the Internet. Rheumatology, Nephrology, Neurology and the regular hospital pediatric teams all did the same things. And she was becoming one of those cases that excite doctors in a morbid way, to the point where my daughter became a case study for the Neurology team.

It was finally the MRI of her brain that told the story. Her brain was swollen, and they finally decided what it was. Finally we had an answer, and finally there was a treatment, and finally I saw the little girl I knew shine through again.

She recovered faster than expected. She was sitting for short stints before she got out of the hospital. She was moving on her own at home the first day. She was walking and out of the wheelchair in a month. We got to see how strong Booie was. She is a fighter, and that served her recovery well but was part of what made her diagnosis so difficult. Still, I would rather her be that strong fighter, because she came back to me again.

All of this is now a thankfully distant memory. I'm not always thankful when I'm picking her dirty clothes up off the bathroom floor or breaking up a fight between her and her brother, but every once in a while I stop and remember and thank God she's here to make me angry. I still worry when she climbs trees or gets sick, and she's more spoiled now than she would have been had it never happened, but time passes and those worries and overindulgences lessen.

I don't need a special day to remind me to be thankful. It's just this day happens to focus on the thankfulness more than other days, and once again, I'm so happy I have two healthy kids again.

Go hug the ones you love. That's what I'll be doing today.


Read the story as it happened.


NaNoWriMo Update

WORD COUNT: 19,960

Is there such a thing as a 30,000 word novel? No? Oh, ok.


Today I got rid of:

It's a holiday here. Give me a break!


Previous|Next
One year ago - Cheap fares or not...
I didn't get to go to Nebraska for Thanksgiving, but a few days later, I got a surprise!

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >