I Need to Whine
22 August, 2001 - 12:23 p.m.

I Need to Whine

Diaryland seems to be down, so I can't post my entry for the day. I hate that. I'm spoiled because it's down so rarely. Andrew is so attentive to those things and apologizes like crazy whenever there are problems. Most of the time, I never even know there was a problem but for his updates. I really can't complain at all. Hell, my own ISP is down more often than Diaryland is.

Still, I'm a whiner by nature, so that's what I'm doing. I'd really like to get my entry up and get on with my day. Why I can't get on with my day and post the entry later is ridiculous. I should be doing my Tae-Bo for the day, cleaning my kitchen, going through the two boxes of papers and other junk from my bedroom and vacuuming the ever-present layer of dog hair off the floor. I told Booie I would walk the dog and let her ride her bike beside me, but I haven't done that yet. It's already past noon, and all I've done is scrub one side of the kitchen sink and wash a load of laundry.

I suppose I have done more. Now that I'm getting into my routines, I am even starting to take making my bed, getting dressed, washing my face and making breakfast for granted. How about that? Who would have ever thought that I'd take making my bed, of all things, for granted? It's quite amazing, really. I do need to learn to stop being so down on myself all the time.

I was disappointed in my 9:30 wake-up. I made a plan to get up earlier each day until the kids start school next Wednesday. I was to get up at 9:15 today, but I pushed the snooze button and lay in bed for another 15 minutes. It's not like I even slept, but I felt so tired. I made the mistake of exercising too late last night and couldn't get to sleep until sometime after 3 AM. That's when I quit checking the clock to see how little sleep I'd be getting for the night. That could explain why I'm so reluctant to peel my butt off this computer chair, but it's not a good reason, especially considering FlyLady (Thank you, Lady!) has deemed Wednesday Anti-Procrastination Day.

And now it looks like the clouds are rolling in. I haven't watched the news in at least a week, so I have no idea what the forecast is. Something always makes me pay for putting things off. Booie will never let me live it down if I don't take her out on her bike.

She got her bike last Christmas. She thought it was from Santa, even though it wasn't. I let Santa have the credit anyway. It's a little hard to ride a bike through snow and muck in the middle of winter, so she really didn't get to use it right away. She circled around in the garage some until she got sick in January. I still use her illness as an excuse for why she can't even pedal her bike up the slight incline of the driveway, even though she's fully recovered now. The simple truth is I haven't taken her out enough. Our street is much too busy to allow her to ride on her own, so it's up to me to help her build up her leg strength and her confidence on the bike. Since I'm a lazy ass, that hasn't happened. So, I will get her out there today right after lunch, unless it's pouring down rain.

This rain will not be a good thing in more ways than just bike riding. John's band is supposed to play at one of the parks tonight. This park has a band come out and play and then shows a movie. The last time the band was supposed to play, it rained then too. I didn't get to see The Nutty Professor II because of it. Yes, I could rent it, but remember, I'm a lazy ass. Also, there a million other movies I end up wanting to see more when I do get my slothful self to the video store. Tonight, I really want to see X-Men, because Hugh Jackman does things to me I just can't talk about. Now it looks like rain. Damn weather.

Well, I suppose I better go get that lunch made before I allow the weather to get in the way of something my dear daughter really wants to do. I have to shake off this loser mother title I seem to have adopted.


Previous|Next

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >