Two Sides
23 February, 2001 - 10:19 AM

Two Sides

Good: arriving at your favorite coffee shop before a busload of high school kids gets there

Bad: working at a coffee shop where a busload of high school kids just arrived, and you are one of two working

You can guess on which side of that scenario I was. I am happily slurping down my favorite coffee and eating a cherry chip donut. I'm easy to please.

After a message from Jenistar (who had the nifty idea of answering on her page the survey I put up), I realized there is another side to my story about Booie. You see, things have been going so well that I've neglected to write about her. She has continued to improve steadily since being home from the hospital, first by being able to straighten out her body, then by sitting up, then crawling, then walking on her knees until she finally stood and took her first wobbly steps. For a while, she would walk around, looking like a marionette in the way her body move. She would walk a couple days, need codeine, then rest for a day or two. I never expected her to walk so soon. I was hoping she would be walking by the time we went on our beach vacation in May.

Booie has surpassed even the doctors' expectations in recovery. She had a neurology appointment on the 12th where many of the doctors who had seen her in the hospital stopped by to see how the little "U" girl was doing. She gained that name from her body posture when she was really sick. She was a pretty remarkable case and continues to impress everyone with her strength and resilience.

She returned to school on the 13th and 14th. She used her wheelchair for the long walks to and from the car, and I got to stay with her in school, which I wrote a little bit about. She broke out in a rash all over her body on the 14th though, so I kept her home the following two days.

She had little red, itchy spots all over her. The pediatrician thought it was a food allergy, so we eliminated the Fruit & Cream Instant Oatmeal. It was the only thing she's eaten that was the slightest bit out of the ordinary. We were worried about Tegretol being the cause and left a message with the neurologist who called us back Friday evening. She didn't think it was the medicine but switched just to be sure. I don't really think it was the medicine either, because the rash did seem to be easing a bit by then. It turned out to be for the best though, because the new medicine works even better for Booie. We spent all day Saturday shopping with her Grandma, and she's been walking a lot and even running in short spurts in the house. She had a play date (that term kills me) with a friend on Wednesday and has another one today. She's been missed. It seems she was a very popular girl even before she got sick. Go figure... a popular child springing from me.

Everything is going so well that I'm right back into my routine of slacking. To make it worse, we just got a new digital camcorder. Yesterday, I was going to write about the panic I feel when buying things like these, but I never got around to that. Maybe later. Maybe never. It's not like you're missing anything. It's a lot like what I talked about yesterday-second-guessing myself, not being able to decide, regretting my final decision. I know already that I should have bought the 720 instead of the 820 because I don't need a stupid printer in my camcorder for $100 extra. But I got a super deal on the thing, which even impressed the guy at Circuit City (like they're hard to impress) where I bought an extra battery. So anyway, I want to play with my new toy today instead of working, but I better do some work instead. I have my usual list of stuff that needs done that I'm sure can be recited by anyone that reads this page even occasionally.

I have to go pack a bag of toys for Booie's play date now. That's not on my typical list.


Previous|Next

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >