Bored and Boring
25 September, 2002 - 12:12 p.m.

Bored and Boring

I feel better today, which is a blessing since the kids are off school today for Open House. I guess having both an afternoon and evening presentation for Open House keeps things from getting too crowded at the schools, but this is the first school system I've seen that gives the kids the day off. My experience is limited though.

Of course, since I do feel better and also procrastinated calling the doctor yesterday, I really don't want to do it today, even though I still have a shadow of a headache. I just hate going to the doctor that much. John will probably have my ass for dinner, and not in a good way, if I don't make that call today. Yesterday, he reminded me I was supposed to call the day before. It's hard to say I forgot when I have constant lethargy and a pounding head to remind me every minute of the day. I don't have that today, but I'd really rather have my ass downsized by some other means that having my loving husband take a few chomps out of it.

I am about out of my mind from all this sitting and lying around I've been doing. It's not like I can do much else, but still. I'm even getting tired of reading all day, every day, and I really love to read. I just don't love to read every waking minute of my life. It also gets very hard to talk about anything other than books, which only goes so far in the interesting department. I have to get out today and not just to Open House at the school.

The bunny Booie madeI did get out once yesterday for the Build-a-Bear excursion. It would have been much more enjoyable had my head not felt like it would burst at any moment. I wonder if they would have made me pay for all the animals and accessories I ruined. The whole Build-a-Bear experience is quite cute, though I would have been perfectly pleased just to buy the animal already stuffed and get clothes for it. The girls seemed to enjoy the stuffing process immensely though, and I must admit, even I stood gaping as they sent stuffing through the big vacuum tubes overhead and into the stuffers.

To get out today, I am taking the kids to lunch somewhere that is not fast food. I am so sick of fast food, and my choices are so much more limited as to make picking up food much less appealing than it ever was. I have to start cooking a lot more, because once I eliminate chicken and other fowl from my diet, my choices will be even more limited and unappealing. It's sad when dining out adds excitement to my day.

I have done some more work in my scrapbook, which is about 400% more productive with it that I had been in the past six months. I have a whole bookshelf chock full of photos that will probably be there the day I die at the rate I'm going, but the ones that are in the album sure look good. I told myself I would do at least a page a week, but I'm going to have to get my desk cleaned off downstairs, because claiming the dining room table for my workspace all this time isn't working very well when it comes time to eat.

That means I have to work on the basement some more. The basement has descended back into the Pit of Despair category. That's what I can do for tomorrow's entry. I'll take some more pictures of the atrocity and vow to clean it again. Lots of people seem interested in my progress (or lack thereof) in the basement. I did get about 50% of my craft stuff on shelves now though, so that part looks better. It's the only part.

And now I've run out of things to say, because I think I recapped everything that I have done or plan to do in the next couple days. Being me is such hard work.


Previous|Next

One year ago
Roommate Wanted - "That means I get particularly hostile if you are chipper and think I should enjoy the sunrise with you."

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >