Pain in the Foot
26 October, 2002 - 9:38 p.m.

Pain in the Foot

I have no idea what I did, but my foot has been hurting since Monday. It didn�t hurt right after I ran. I felt just fine until that evening, and then it started aching on the outside of my left foot. It hurt when I put weight on it, but it really hurt when I took the weight off. It wasn�t excruciating, so I went about my business as normal for the week, even ran on Wednesday evening with my running partner. Interestingly enough, my foot felt perfectly fine while running, but as soon as I stopped running and started walking again, it hurt like hell. I made the best of it walking the � mile from the parking lot to the Red Cross building on Thursday and back again. Yesterday, I really wanted to run, but I thought I better not. So I did the logical thing and sat on my ass all day. It does feel better today, but it�s not 100%. I hope this doesn�t turn out to be one of those nagging injuries.

It�s very irritating when something like this happens. Here I am, doing well with exercise, and something like this happens. It seems like no matter what I do, I have some kind of physical roadblock that prevents improvement. Am I doomed to greatness of the fat cell variety? It�s like my body is saying, Excuse me, but I�m trying to be fat here! Like I don�t mentally sabotage myself enough, my body has to do it too. I�m trying to do it a favor, and this is how it repays me.

I was really hoping to get three days of running in this week, but it�s looking like that won�t be such a good idea. I�ll have to do some yoga instead. I think I can manage that fairly well. I am going to defy my stupid body however I can. This is like some kind of ridiculous war with myself.


Previous/Next

One year ago
No Rest for the Stupid - "For all he knew, she was a vicious beast, waiting for the opportunity to snack on citrus-scented salesmen."

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >