Thank you, Wells Fargo
26 June, 2001 - 3:13 p.m.

Thank you, Wells Fargo

Typically, Tuesday should be my running around day. I get errands done and go shopping. I do need to go shopping, but since our checking account has a whole five dollars and change in it, shopping cannot be done. We should have $705 and change in our account, but thanks to our auto loan bank, we don't. They thought it would be nice to take a double payment this month. This is the second time they've done that. The first time, we called three times to right it. They said three times it would be righted. It never did get fixed. Fortunately, that was a good financial month for us, so we lived through it by putting our thrift skills to work. We can't do that this month. We can't even afford to eat for the next nineteen days, much less do all the other things that require cash, including take a trip to Nebraska. So, we have to have the money back. They can't get away with stealing our money a second time.

Supposedly, they sent the money back yesterday, but it's not showing up in our account and our bank has no record of it. We were asked to wait until tomorrow. I don't understand how an electronic transaction can be so slow. They took the money out on payday in the blink of an eye. Why is it so damn hard to put it back? Sometimes I really hate the computer age. The damn banks can really use it to their advantage.

Anyway, that's my reason for not shopping today and will be our reason for eating slim today, not that we couldn't use some slim eating. I thought about catching up on some of the chores I missed last week. I decided to go ahead and do the chores I missed yesterday, but I still have yet to do anything. The money was weighing heavily on my mind, so I went on a hunt for a birthday check my parents sent me. Yes, my birthday was a month ago, but we didn't cash the check. I don't know why. We're goofy about those things. Regardless, it wasn't done, and that's money we could use to eat right now. So I went on a mission to find the check. I went through stacks of papers and boxes of junk when we did a big cleaning binge a couple weeks ago and have come up with nothing. Now my bed is covered in piles of paper and junk. The stuff is in neat piles according to what it is and where it needs to go, but I don't feel like putting any of it away now, mostly because I didn't find the check and I'm pissed at myself.

I could have sworn I gave the check to John or put it on the desk, but John says he never even saw it. A search of the desk has come up even more empty than going through the bags and boxes of stuff from the cleaning frenzy. Wherever that check is, it's pretty damn safe. It's probably in the same place as the savings bond certificate Hammy won at school. I can't find that either, and we need to take it to the bank to get Hammy's bond. That's almost $100 in lost money. I'm so stupid.


More of the Wells Fargo saga here


Previous|Next

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >