Home Ownership
28 August, 2001 - 4:59 p.m.

Home Ownership

If all goes well, we should be homeowners in about 30 days. We are locking our rate this evening at a mere 7%. That is .75% less than it was three weeks ago, which adds up to a bucket of money over the course of 30 years. I'm very happy, and I'm pretty well over all the nervousness about buying our house. We are getting a good deal, and we are getting a good interest rate. We've lived here three years already, so we know the house, and nothing major seems to be wrong with it. It has to be inspected by about a million people, because we are going through the VA for our mortgage, so we'll find out for sure if there is something big wrong. I doubt anything will come up.

The VA is pretty strict when it comes to lending money for a home, but it's worth it for us. I don't know that they are as strict as they once were when there couldn't even be a crack in the pavement of the driveway, but out driveway doesn't even have cracks in it anyway. I know they require a regular inspection, a pest inspection, and some kind of radon or other type of inspection. Once all is cleared, we get the loan, and we will officially own our own home. Man, that seems weird.

John has a lot to do tonight, so he wants me to go to counseling on my own. I don't know if I want to do that. I have been feeling in a bit of a funk for a couple weeks now, but I hate to just come in by myself when we said last week we would both be there. I suppose we have a good excuse. John has to meet with the landlord, fill out some forms and talk to our loan officer to get everything done. He is leaving it up to me whether to go myself or not. I cannot seem to decide what to do.

Indecision seems to be the theme for me lately. I haven't been able to find a subject to write about other than how crummy I've been feeling lately, so I don't write at all. I've been stagnant at home, because I can't seem to decide what to do. I put off deciding when to work out, so I end up being stuck doing Tae-Bo when I should be on my mountain bike. I'm having a career crisis, because I can't seem to pick a field. It might be a good thing if I do go on my own tonight and have the doctor straighten me out.

Somehow I managed to get things ready for the kids to return to school tomorrow. My plan to get up progressively earlier each day failed miserably when I was stricken with the inability to go to sleep at night for the past week or so. I don't look forward to that 6:30 AM alarm tomorrow morning. I always make a big breakfast for the kids on the first day of school, and Hammy in particular looks forward to it, so I have to get up. I'm going to be a slug tomorrow. At least I'll be a well-prepared slug, and I'll have the whole day to myself to revel in my sluggishness. Oh yeah!


Previous|Next

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >