Self-Fulfilling Prophecy
29 June, 2005 - 4:40 p.m.

I may have set myself up by saying getting books would ruin my writing streak. I just started the second one. The first was a bit of a letdown, but sometimes a book is a book. I hope this one is better.

10:55 p.m. - Even the Power Company Was Shocked

I totally kicked that laundry room's ass tonight! I dreaded it so much for so long. I put a tiney dent in it here and there, and I thought that's how I would start late this afternoon when I first went down. I actually took pictures before doing anything, so there are going to be great before and after shots. It was the pictures that really got me going.

When you live with something all the time, you tend to get used to it. I don't know that I ever fully accepted the mess that was the laundry room, but I did become numb to the enormity of it. Photos have a way of capturing a situation for what it is, like when you realize you don't just look "heavy" anymore.

I didn't have to print these photos to be affected. Just the process of climbing over piles and viewing what showed up on the digital screen shocked me into reality. And that reality was that my laundry room was as bad as those rooms you see on home improvement shows--even the worst than some. Sadly, this isn't even the worst that room has ever been, but it was representative of its typical state. When no one else has the balls to tell you the truth, the camera will.

I already had some laundry going, since I've been working at that all day. I was whittling away at the pile on the floor, which is hard to believe when looking at the photos. Still, it was a start, but I needed to start on the rest of the room. I wasn't sure what to do. I mean, look at it!

I really shouldn't be showing this to anyone.

How do you start on that? I prepared a load of towels and blankets for washing and told myself I was not giving up before I began or try to convince myself I was already on my way by starting to wash the big pile. While technically true, it wasn't any more than I've done in the past, and that clearly didn't work.

There was nothing to do but just start with something. I decided to use the method of starting on one side of the door and making my way around the room. That's how I took the pictures, so I could follow that. Starting on the leftSo I began on my left and gathered dusty fabric softener and detergent bottles. There was a dryer sheet or two I never bothered to pick up when they fell from the dryer. Then I made the iron and ironing board holder back into what it really is rather than a makeshift clothes hanger. That's when I came to the dryer, piled with a load of wrinkly clothes from over a week ago. With the dryer in use, there wasn't much to do about it. I was already halted.

I could have stopped there and honestly claimed progress. I thought I would tackle a bit at a time and get done in a week or so. That was the plan anyway. I didn't feel very satisfied though, but looking to the right of the door, well... it was worse. Lurking behind the clothes rack

If I planned to clean the whole thing, I'd have to do this eventually. Might as well just dig in. So I started excavating, and once I began, there was no stopping. I went through the whole pile, and then started behind the pile. Another view of the pile I took books out of boxes that hadn't seen the light in seven years. I unpacked video tapes and winter clothes that never made it into rotation because they were buried. I threw away lots and lots of stuff, like the old love seat cusions and an irreparable sleeping bag. I put even more into bags and boxes to give away. I'll have to figure would what will go to my brother and what will go to Freecycle and AmVets, but it's in the "give" iple on the futon for sorting and distribution when I'm done cleaning. Just a bit went into a "keep" bag for sentimental reasons. Then there were a few things to put away elsewhere, which left organizing and putting stuff away that was staying, like those winter clothes. Some things needed washing, so the big pile The big pileactually grew, even though I kept the laundry process going the whole time.

John ordered pizza after he came home. I guess he is tired of noodles or sandwiches. I wasn't very hungry because I lose my appetite when I clean. (There are so many reasons for me to clean more!) Plus, I made another batch of Oriental Broccoli Salad and ate a bunch of it before I started cleaning. I joined the family though and did eat a slice.

More stuff behind the clothes rackThen it was back to work, because I was on a roll. Can't let that kind of momentum pass. More laundry, more organizing, more tossing, more donating. I didn't even stop when the singer for John's band came to do some recording with John. I went through John's clothes on the overweighted clothes rod. Looking back toward the door with clothes rod I threw out moldy rugs from when the washer hose sprayed out the drain. I hung up old clothes to keep, got rid of boxes, found long-lost stuff, put "hope clothes" (I hope I fit this again) away, and even reminisced with my old stuffed animals.

That was all just the clothes rod and behind. I still have more back there plus the rest of the pile, everything between the furnace and washer, and the washer dryer wall. Between the furnace & washer I totally rocked, but there is a lot left. I would have made more progress if we didn't have a brown-out for about 45 minutes. Storms always come when it's most inconvenient and when you forgot your car windows are wide open. I'm so glad we have good neighbors or I would be taking Hammy to Health in an aquarium tomorrow.

The bassist for John's band came over during the brown-out. Their progress was halted too. We all got back to work though, and they are still at it. We really need a soundproof room for John. If we ever get the garage cleaned out, he could have that. I won't worry about it though. I'm doing my laundry room.

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >