Lazy Weekend
29 July, 2002 - 12:10 p.m.

Lazy Weekend

John and I did next to nothing all weekend long, and it was great. Friday I met him after work for a going away party for his boss. We went to dinner after that, picked up Booie from the in-laws, then went home. At home began the long weekend of playing Magic online. We were up until after 2 AM that night. I watched John as he played.

The next day, I decided I wanted to play myself. I was never much interested in playing the Magic card game, because I didn't like the idea of messing with all those cards. Keeping track of them, shuffling them around, and keeping another thing in my life organized just didn't appeal to me. The online version didn't have all that mess. It organized, shuffled, kept track of the rules, and did everything for you. The idea of paying for virtual (or digital as they call them) cards seemed a little silly to me, but it was worth it not to have to handle cards.

I signed up sometime around noon on Saturday and played all afternoon. John helped me set things up. I played a few newbie games, and then went over to the draft tournaments where John practically played for me. I learned a lot, but I'm certainly not the caliber to really hang in those tournaments yet, if ever. I'm unfamiliar with a lot of the cards and the way they are played. It's going to take a while for me to get the hang of all this.

Saturday evening was the only time we left the house all weekend. We needed to pick up some prescriptions and buy some shampoo. It's exciting stuff such as that that dragged our lazy butts away from the computer. We needed kitchen garbage bags too. The little, plastic, grocery bags just weren't cutting it. It was like we were college students or something. Oh wait, I am soon going to be a college student again. Never mind.

Once we got home and put Booie to bed, you can guess what we were doing once again. That night, we only stayed up until 1:30 playing games, but then I asked if there was any news on the trapped miners, so we checked online and found out they were being pulled out at that very moment. I had to turn on the TV, and we watched as they pulled the last three guys out of there. I almost cried.

I tried to go to bed after that, but I made the mistake of drinking some regular coffee while we were out. It's been a long, long time since I've had regular coffee or caffeine in any form but chocolate. I was super-tired, but I couldn't sleep, so I got a bath and read the rest of my book. It was after 4 AM when I finally got back in bed and went to sleep.

John got up quite a bit earlier than I did, for obvious reasons, and decided it was time to finally get the wireless network set up for which we've had the equipment for months. Getting the laptop connected would mean we could both play Magic Online at the same time and even play each other and as a team. There is no motivation like worthless games to get things done.

I warned John it would not go as smoothly as he hoped. He was supposed to set it up while I was away, but it was a little hard to do considering I had the laptop with me in Nebraska. As usual, it took a few hours instead of a few minutes to get everything working properly. After that though, we were both hooked up and playing through dinnertime. We stayed up late again for a work night, though it wasn't much after midnight.

I told myself I will not get on there today. There is too much work to be done. The laundry certainly doesn't pile up like it does with Hammy here, but it's still worth doing after a week. The house needs picked up too. Neither John nor I did any work at all over the weekend, except I did load and run the dishwasher once. We truly were living like bums, and now I have to clean up. John's mom is stopping by after work, so she can ride with me to a candle party I'm kind of obligated to attend. I don't want her seeing our extremely slobby side.

I'm afraid I'm turning into a true gamer geek. I could be out riding my bike or running or doing any number of things, but instead I sit on my butt and play games. It's sad. It's especially sad when I plan on going to school for Athletic Training. I just have to remember moderation in all things. I don't want to be the fattest student in the program, or worse yet, the only fat student in the program.

Speaking of which, I need to call the school today. Another thing on my list. And speaking of list, as predicted, I only did those three things that day. Nothing more. The good news is the list hasn't grown off the first page, not that it couldn't. There is still hope, but not if I don't get away from this machine and do something.


Previous|Next

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >