Hammy Mix
24 July, 2002 - 4:38 p.m.

Hammy Mix

In honor of my darling, firstborn child who I miss so much's birthday, I have decided to make a mix CD of all the songs with which I corrupted him as a baby/toddler. My mom would probably tell me that is the reason I have any problem with him at all. I damaged him with devil music in his formative years. While other people were making little baby geniuses with Baby Mozart and Baby Bach (which I don't even think was out at the time Hammy was a baby, but still), I was dooming my child to a life of crime. Somehow, I messed up though, because he has a pretty high IQ, and he's really a good kid.

I don't think I've ever really talked about my musical taste a whole lot. Even though I listened to a lot of "devil music," (and still do) I always liked lots of other stuff, including the brain-stimulating classical stuff. The only type of music I find myself consistently not liking is country, though there is even some of that I don't mind. I let Kay drag me to a Garth Brooks concert after all. In high school, I split my listening time between punk and Top 40 with a sprinkling of jazz, classical, and even show tunes. The strangeness of the punk/Top 40 thing is really what encapsulates my music preferences perfectly. Hell, it summarizes my whole life really. I've always wanted to fit in and be popular while hating it.

Astrology might be a lot of mumbo jumbo, but I fit the Gemini mold like a fine, silk glove, baby. It also explains why I get off track so easily.

I'm not as heavily into music as I once was. I think being a band wife rather burned me out on the whole music thing. As the band woe fades, I find myself becoming more interested again, and as always, my likes run the gamut.

As for Hammy, well, he currently digs The Beatles and the local oldies station. He also seems to like jazz a great deal. If the radio isn't tuned to oldies, it's on Top 40. He often laughs at my "devil music" and can't believe I listen to "that crap." Who's the child here? He also can't believe he used to bang his baby head to Ministry, but he did. I have video to prove it.

The end result is yet to be seen. Maybe Ham is still destined to be a criminal, just a criminal mastermind instead of your average, idiot criminal. So far, he's showing no signs of it. As much as I might complain, pull my hair out, moan, bitch, wail, and gnash my teeth about the boy, his problems aren't all that big. He's a good kid, and people constantly remind me of that when they say how polite, nice, well behaved, and loving he is.

So if you too want to breed your own future criminal mastermind with manners, send me an email with your name and address before the end of the month, and I'll mail you the aural ingredients. If you don't like "noise" though, I recommend you pass on this offer. I plan on doing future mixes of some of my lighter and current preferences.

Here's to Hammy!


Previous|Next

One year ago
Double Ones for the Hammy Whammy - I can't help but celebrate the little guy.

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >