It's in the Genes
23 July, 2002 - 3:10 p.m.

It's in the Genes

While in Nebraska, I was telling my mom about all the things I want to do to our house now that it's really ours. Technically, it's really the bank's. I think we own the whole front doorknob by now. It's been something like nine months after all. But just because the bank really owns our house doesn't make it any less ours to me, and being ours means we get to do all the maintenance and improvements and back-breaking tasks like that.

It would take me the whole day to list all the things I'd like to do to this house short of demolishing the damn thing and building a new house. I will never live long enough to do all that I think needs done, and I will be a crazy cat lady by the time I do all that really does need done. But in an effort to at least get started on the big long list that caused my mom's eyes to glaze over and drool to run down her chin as she listened to only a portion of what needs done, I decided I better actually write this list down rather than attempting to keep it in my tattered memory.

I finally got around to starting that list today. Right now, it's pretty house specific, but as my lists usually do, it will morph into a catch-all list of everything in the whole wide world that I think I should do, until it grows so very large and unwieldy that I conveniently lose it in one of my large-size piles of clutter and just as conveniently forget about it. Do you have any idea how many abandoned lists I find whenever I get a hankering to declutter? Strangely, they always seem to have the same things on them too.

I'm quite happy to say that I got off my ass after starting the current list and did two, yes two, of the tasks on that list. One of those tasks was spraying my roses for black spot. It promptly rained not fifteen minutes after I sprayed, most likely nullifying my effort. It didn't look like it would rain so soon. I thought the stuff would have a chance to dry before the afternoon rain that was predicted. It was sunny out, after all, and I was sweating my ass off, so why in the world would I ever think it would rain not even a full hour after I decide to spray my roses? Maybe I should rent myself out to drought-stricken areas across the country and go do chores that require dryness. I seem to be quite effective at bringing rainfall when I really don't want it, like when I fertilized my lawn in the spring on a day it wasn't supposed to rain at all.

My next chore was not dry dependent like the rose-spraying. In fact, I did part of the job while it was raining, cursing all the while because of the rose incident.

Something like two, maybe three months ago, I replaced the screen in one of the panels on our screened porch. The foster dog we kept before we got Kaya tore a big hole in that panel about two years ago this very month, trying to get back in the house. Fixing that screen was on at least two other lists since that time, but I never get around to it. It looked to be a lot less easy than most screening jobs, and I wasn't looking forward to it. I was right too, because when I went to put the new screen in, I got no less than three cuts and gouges in my hands from trying to get that stupid screen installed. I ended up leaving the top section of spline unfinished for fear of needing a blood transfusion by the time I was done.

Feeling rather brave today, I climbed up on a chair and started cramming the spline into the little track. The planets must be aligned correctly for screening today, because I managed to get the whole thing done in less than an hour (That's what a bitch this job is. It took nearly an hour to do a three foot section.), partly in the rain, with absolutely no scratches, cuts, bruises, or missing fingers. I think I'm going to recreen the door to the same porch while I'm on a roll and knock off yet another task on my list.

I usually do pretty well the first day I make a list, but it all goes downhill from there. I get lazy the second or third day and think of all kinds of other things to do that keep me from more important things. Making the list is always so much more fun than doing the list, and I often add things to the list well beyond the time I am getting anything at all done.

My mom has listing down to an art form. She has lists of things to pack for trips, lists for camping, temporary lists, permanent lists, event specific lists, filed lists, lists on sticky notes, lists in notebooks, lists for herself, and lists for others. The only thing I think she doesn't do is color code things, which is something I would think to do because I like playing with the pretty colored paper. She, on the other hand, actually does the things on her lists and doesn't bother with the aesthetics of her list making. So she passed on her penchant (and let's face it, need) for lists to me, but she did not pass on the productivity. Just like she passed on the packrat gene to me but not the organization gene. I end up an unproductive, list-making, messy clutterbug.

Proof in point of my inability to follow through, check out my New Year's Resolutions. Of the thirty pounds I said I'd lose, I've lost one and a half. I am not currently exercising regularly at all, I sure as hell didn't run the 5K at the marathon, and I haven't eaten better in a consistent manner for more than a month. Hopefully I can pull out of that tailspin by the end of the year.

The second item hasn't made any progress either. I did actually decide what I wanted to do, only to find the tile I wanted was discontinued. That left me back at square one, and there has been no advancement on the table front. The table is on my current list of things to do, by the way. We'll see how that goes.

As for the fourth living room wall getting painted, that will have to wait until it cools off around here. I'm not painting anything without being able to open the windows. That leaves the three days in fall that are usually nice enough for me to keep windows open, because as with the roses, the weather never, ever cooperates with me and my projects.

The bathroom fan, on the other hand, doesn't really have to wait. I'm kind of scared to cut a hole in my roof though, so I've been putting that project off. I don't exactly have the cash flow right now to buy the necessary equipment either. I'm going to be really lucky to get this resolution done by year's end.

See? That's a list that's been around for seven months, and I haven't done one thing on it. I've tried giving up on list making, thinking it's just never going to work for me, but not making lists produces even less results, which amounts to no results at all. Not good. I have to the lists, even if I only do two or three things on the list. It's two or three things more than I would normally do.

In order to make it three things on this list instead of only two, I think I'll go rescreen my porch screen door now. The cats will love me for it, because they will be allowed to go out there and lounge, pretending they're truly outside and free. How beasts with fur think it's great to lay in the sun in 90 degree heat baffles me. It's futile to try to understand the mind of a cat though. I should know that by now, just like I should know to make lists with only two things on them, but do I ever learn my lesson with anything?


Previous|Next

One year ago
I Took Time Out of my Day for This? - Silly little entry when I should have been doing something else. Kind of like this one!

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >