I'm Hopeless
29 December, 2000 - 3:04 PM

I'm Hopeless

I started back up with getting rid of something every day, beginning yesterday. I figured I'll make excuses not to start again forever, so I had to do it. See my original explanation here.

What really got me going with this again was digging through all my craft stuff to try and find some white felt and dark brown embroidery floss. I found the white felt. I think I'll have to buy some floss. I hate when I have to do that. I hate that I end up with six brown embroidery flosses because I lost the previous five. I just complained to John before I left for Nebraska when he was going to go out and buy a little padlock for my suitcase because he couldn't find one of the three we already had. I ended up finding one myself. But now that I have to buy embroidery floss, I have to apologize to John for getting upset with him.

I do that a lot; get upset with John for something I hate about myself. I know everyone does it, but since there's so many things I do I don't like that John unfortunately happens to share, I get mad at him way too much. I'm really getting mad at myself a lot. I mean, I don't like those traits in him anymore than I like them in myself, but I really have no right to complain about his shortcomings until I've fixed them in myself, right? So that's what made me decide to get back on the cleaning track. I got mad at John for something I do myself, and I have to buy more brown embroidery floss when I know I already have some. Make sense?

I was going to put up a picture of what I had to go through to even try to find that embroidery floss, so I got the digital camera and dumped off the current pictures to make room for more. But instead of going to take the pictures, I decided to go ahead and back up the pictures I just loaded onto the computer. After losing whole journals twice (I didn't learn my lesson after the first hard drive crash), I am much better about backing things up. This time, I find out my backup disk has gone wacky, so I was desperately copying everything from it to make sure I didn't lose anything for the third time. I have terrible luck with these things.

The whole process of backing up to a new disk has taken me nearly five hours. I can't blame it on the CD writer. That thing is fast. The system only locked up on me twice, so it's not that. No, rather than just backing up to a new disk, which would take all of ten minutes, I decided to organize everything. So now my pictures are all nice and neat and stored on their very own disk, and I still don't have a journal entry (until now) or a clean basement or even embroidery floss. But damn if I can't find any picture I want!

So I'm not going to post any pictures, even though I did end up taking them. You see, after looking at the results of my basement photography, I decided that needs its very own entry. It's that awesome, and not in a good way either. Believe me, this disaster is worth the wait and comes nearer the "train wreck" side of life than the "walk in the park" side. And you thought my bathroom was bad.


Today I got rid of:

Two big bags of non-chocolate candy that we will never eat
Some old tea bags


Previous|Next

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >