Upward Visual
29 August, 2001 - 9:29 p.m.

Upward Visual

The good thing about being bad at mountain biking is I have nowhere to go but up. I do think I'm better. I went on almost the same trail as the time I went on the beginner bike ride, but this time it was very muddy, and I think I did better. I don't think I did so well going up hill, but I did do better on the downhills. I wasn't as scared, and I handled the bike better. I did a lot of walking though, mostly uphill. I probably pushed myself up the hills a little harder when I was with the group, since they were waiting on me all the time, but I made the complete ride in less time, so I had to be doing something right. I still have a very long way to go to be considered anything close to adequate, but at least I suck a little less.

The other thing that tells me I'm better is I have far fewer scratches and bruises. I have two good scratches on my hands from the stupid wild raspberry vines that were growing across the trail, and one light scratch on my leg from the same thing. I don't have any chunks out of the back of my leg from my pedals, and I don't feel any bruises either. So, same trail, less than half the damage. I'd say that's better. Considering it was pretty slippery today with some places still under a bit of water, that's very good. I handled slipping a lot better than I have in the past and braved a few more small logs too.

It was way muddier than this at some pointsBy the time I was finished, I looked like I had done some really serious mountain biking. My tires were caked in mud that flung all over me and everything around me when I hit pavement. My brakes were covered, making me very happy I invested the extra money to get a front disc. There were even some weeds stuck in my pedals. I wish I were as capable a rider as the mud made me out to be.

I'll need to do a little bike maintenance now. My back tire is in need of some air, and all that mud isn't going to do the bike any good. Unfortunately, I don't know much past getting the thing clean. I really need to learn more about taking care of the bike. I also need to get a new screw for the water bottle holder. The darn thing broke on me today, so I had to go without water the whole ride. That sucked.

I feel like a really accomplished something today. Now if I can keep at it, I should be halfway between bad and adequate by the time the race is here. I'm trying to be realistic here.

7:01 PM

Is It Bedtime Yet?

This feels like the longest day ever. I've been up for twelve and a half hours already, and I don't even have a chance of going to bed until eleven. I'm spoiled and don't have what most consider a real job, so let me whine. I've been sleeping until nine every day. This is tough for me.

Sadly, I really haven't done anything today. Once I washed all the mud off myself, I lay down on the couch for a little nap that didn't happen, and then it was time to walk up and meet Booie after school. Asia got a great nap while lying on top of me, but I didn't get a wink. I hope that doesn't happen when I go to bed for the night too.


Previous|Next

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >