Preparing for Goal Day
30 April, 2005 - 9:50 a.m.

After I ran Tuesday, my shins really hurt, especially the right one. I stretched as usual and figured it would be gone in a day like it usually is. Not this time though. It was just as bad the next day, and my triceps ached fiercely from overdoing those. I took the day off from exercise to let my aches heal.

Thursday was another scheduled running and strength day. The triceps were still sore, but not too bad, and I read it can actually help ease the aching to work them, so I sent ahead with strength training. No problem, and I did feel better afterward. Except the shins. They weren't hurting as bad but enough that I knew running would be a bad idea. I walked instead, so I was still doing some endurance. I hoped usuing my legs would increase the circulation and healing. They did not feel better afterward but not worse either. More stretching topped off the day, then I enjoyed having John back home.

Yesterday found my shins still aching but not like before. I only felt them in certain positions. I don't know if it was the walking that helped or if they were just healing as normal. I decided to take another day off, pushing my scheduled Tae-Bo to Saturday with the existing strength. John stayed home from work, and we went to Red Lobster on his birthday gift card. I ate with abandon, enjoying every bit. The only redemption were the three big glasses of water I drank too. We had McDonald's for dinner to complete my day of gluttony. I opted not to go watch John's band. I was tired and just didn't feel like being social. That kept me from adding a beer to my list of bad things ingested. I drank quite a bit of water instead. I hoped all the water might wash away some of the extra calories. I can dream

I've been weighing myself all week, and today was no exception. I wanted to make sure I'm still on track for the big loss the scale indicated earlier this week. This morning is lower than ever at 202. Now I hope I can have the same tomorrow instead of going up just in time for weigh day like so many times before. I almost wish I hadn't seen it, so I wouldn't get my hopes up. If I manage to weigh in at 202 and continue from there, I'll be right on target to be below 200 by my birthday.

I haven't been 202 since mid-may last year. I was unfortunately on the rise at that time and just about to give up exercise yet again if I hadn't already. That was basically the start of my going all the way up to 218. Even our beach vacation in June didn't prompt me to go back down or exercise. I only leveled off for about a month. Then it was up, up, up. So I'm proving to myself slow is OK, because I am making progress. Even if this ends up taking me two years, it will be worth it.

I made a few goals for myself to keep me running, as long as these shin splints don't hang on or get worse. I'm supposed to run again tomorrow, but I'm worried about doing it. I guess I'll just go easy, and if I can't, I can't. I'll rest the remaining week for race day next Sunday, what should be my first race this year.

I decided to actually run the Community Day 5K this year instead of thinking about it in May, not running from Race for the Cure day on, and figureing I'll do it next year. Well, next year is here. And maybe I'll even be able to run the whole thing and in less than a half hour.

The next goal is the Great Race 10K in September. The August 5K will just be part of the training. I've never run a 10K. Never ran more than four miles if I remember right, so this is a big deal. I ran the 5K of that race something like three years ago. I always wanted to do the 10K but never even did the 5K again. I feel nervous thinking about it but four months should be plenty of time to prepare.

The biggest goal is to run at lesat the half marathon of The Flying Pig Marathon in Cincinnati. This year's race is this weekend, so I'll have a whole year to prepare for mine. When I found the Flying Pig, or The Pig as they call it, I knew that was the marathon for me. I really want a shirt and refuse to just buy one. I'm going to earn it. So hopefully, in a little over a year, I'll have it. And maybe I'll get one each year after too.

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >