He's Home
12 August, 2002 - 2:13 p.m.

He's Home

My Hammy's home, and I have been unbelievably happy ever since. I got a call from Ham at 6:00 PM on Friday. I thought he was going to tell me they got lost, even though he seems to know how to get anywhere we've been before, and we've driven the Nebraska to Pittsburgh route a million times. Or maybe they had to stop somewhere for a little nap, since they are complete loons and left at 11:30 the night before. I was ready to wait some more to see my sweet boy, and when he started with "How do we get...," I was already congratulating myself for being right. But he ended with, "from the driveway up to the front door?" The little booger was sitting in the driveway calling me, and I didn't even hear them pull in! I told Booie to run out front, told Hammy he was a skunk, and said, "I'll see you in a bit."

When I opened the front door, Booie was already down the walkway, feet dangling and wrapped in Hammy's arms. Then it was my turn, but without the lifting. I kissed him several times and thought that somehow he seemed even taller still than when I saw him last, but I think that was just a parent thing that comes from missing your kid so much.

Hammy really wanted all of us (the ex, his wife, John, me, and the kids) to go out to dinner at Primanti's. As awkward as that might sound, it wasn't, except for John who doesn't ever do well in groups of people that aren't his own friends. We had a nice dinner on the outdoor patio and said goodbye. As we drove away, Hammy started crying. He's going to miss them. I held his hand and told him how glad I was to have him back, but there was nothing I could do about the pain he was feeling. It's hard to feel so happy and see him like that. He cried a couple times later that evening too, particularly before bed, but that was the last of it.

We celebrated his birthday on Saturday, since he wasn't here for his real birthday. He was so excited to wake up and see presents waiting for him on the coffee table. We were cruel and made him wait until later in the day to open them though, because I still had a couple things to pick up for him, and I wanted him to open everything at once. We went out and ate at the restaurant of his choosing, which happened to be the greasy spoon diner where John's mom and dad first met when his mom worked there. Ham wanted pancakes there, because they make these huge, delicious manhole-sized pancakes. I had a grilled cheese sandwich while I watched the kids eat bacon and John eat not one, but two cheeseburgers. I swear, the very sight of beef just makes my skin crawl anymore. It's going to be hard to keep the kids from eating it. I'm not even going to try to talk John into it.

Hammy was thrilled to open his presents when we got home and loved everything. Our biggest present wasn't there though, because we had to take him to the store for a fitting. We bought him the inline skates he wanted on Sunday, and he's been skating until he sweats near to death ever since.

So far, he has been far from the beastly little boy that came home previous years. In fact, he's been very pleasant, which makes me love him up all the more. I'm so very glad he's home. Even the dog was absolutely insanely happy when he walked in the door and wouldn't leave him alone. Her pack is whole again. And so is mine.


There has been a huge response to my my last entry. I was really surprised by it, and appreciate all the comments and links. I think I rarely strike a chord, but I'm not often out to make statements like that. It's something I feel strongly about, and it looks like a lot of others do too.


Those of you awaiting your Hammy Mix CDs, don't worry. I'm just a little slower than planned. I didn't get the insert done in time for my planned mail date, and my bad back prevented me from doing much with it last week. I will have it out by the end of this week though. Thanks for being patient!


Previous|Next

One year ago
A Successful Party - "He was very happy with his gifts though, so I think that made up for the disappointment in male attendance. I hope it did anyway."
And...
Restlessness - "Our fun seems to consist of going to watch the band, lying on the couch watching movies, or having sex."

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >