The Rest of JournalCon
17 October, 2001 - 4:52 p.m.

The Rest of JournalCon

So� I left off having rubbed hineys rather than elbows with one of the more famous journalists and going back to the hotel from sheer exhaustion over the excitement that caused. I live a small life, yes. Plum and I talked a bit before going to sleep for the night on pillows I am quite sure were stuffed with cotton balls or maybe assorted rolled up socks that disappear from the dryer (that could be where they all go� hotel pillows). And speaking of the hotel amenities, that executive suite? That means we got a big-ass closet, an extra little closet with a microwave, a coffee maker and a small refrigerator stocked with a package of popcorn and a granola bar. I hear others got a bottle of water in there too, but we didn't get a bottle of water. We were robbed. Our bathroom was extra large, but there wasn't anything special about it unless you want to count the toilet sitting about two inches higher than the rest of the floor as special. I didn't appreciate that feature, because I kept bashing my foot into the pedestal de toilette. That bathroom was a hazard to clumsy people like me.

After cracking my toes on the tiled toilet riser for the first time, I went to bed, wondering if Doogie did find a place to crash, since he canceled his room after all of his roommates decided not to go. Somewhere around 3 AM though, the phone rang. It seems he tried knocking way too softly on the door, and this heavy sleeper didn't stir. He knocked just as softly after revisiting after the phone call, but I was almost awake this time. So yes, I let a man in my room at 3 AM, and that's about as sordid as this tale gets. I promptly flopped back into bed and fell asleep. I woke up to find him sleeping on the floor. I felt badly for having been such a zombie and not even giving him a blanket and lumpy pillow. I think he would have been better off sleeping in the woods like he was supposed to do that weekend.

After a shower and useless hair drying (it rained all day, and my hair got wet and frizzy), I went down to catch the tail end of the web design panel, which was just enough to witness the disruption of the day. I felt a little sorry for him. At first, I thought maybe he was just trying too hard, but as he interrupted the panel for the kazillionth time and just wouldn't shut up, I figured he had a little more than nerves going on. Everyone was greatly annoyed, and I'm sure many are suffering strained eye muscles from all the orbital rolling.

I can't even remember the order or panels and readings after that. I do remember going to lunch for dim sum my first time. I was taught how to use chopsticks, and I was actually able to get some of the food off the serving plates and onto my plate. I didn't attempt to eat with the chopsticks, because I would have ended up with more food on my lap and on the floor than in my mouth, and I get crabby when I'm hungry. We returned to finish up panels and readings and to tolerate more of the very strange guy.

Since no one else has described the final reading that day (most people cleared out of the room before he stepped up to the table), I feel it my duty to describe how really odd this was. I guess this piece was supposed to be scary, so he wanted the lights dimmed, and he wanted a person to stand on each side of the table, and he wanted the front row to close their eyes. It wasn't going to happen anyway, but Jessie made sure to let him know there wasn't time for that. This was a reading, not a performance piece. He began, and I don't know that I understood a word of it. I debated leaving myself, and Plum and I did decide to go, but then I felt bad. And well� I'm as guilty of rubbernecking as anyone, and I had a morbid curiosity about what would happen. So I stayed, but nothing did happen. He got nervous, lost his place, swore several times, tried again, swore some more and decided to quit. We all left the room and thought about dinner.

As we were standing in the lobby, he came out, and I looked right at him. He came straight toward me and talked about how nervous he was and how scary his entry was supposed to be and how it wasn't set up properly. I just didn't know what to say, so I didn't say anything and looked at the floor, nearby sofa, other people, whatever I could in hopes he might quit talking to me, even though I felt really guilty for doing so. He took to talking to some of the other girls then and said he still had to go set up his tent, something about tent stakes and that he probably should leave to do that. Then Plum made the best comment I'd heard all day. "I think you should," she said, and we never saw him again.

Another round of walking began as we went quite a few blocks north to some American bistro that smelled delicious but had a big price tag. We ended up going almost an equal length in the opposite direction to eat scrumptious Chicago style pizza that Jen Wade suggested. Yay Jen!

I debated going to the karaoke bar afterward and decided I would, later regretting it only because my ankle hurt something fierce from walking on it so much. I was anxious and achy and didn't make for much fun while I was there. I ended up sitting behind everyone where a man from Peru (you can see a picture of him dancing with Anna Beth at Athena's site) struck up a sort of conversation with me by asking if I liked the music, in particular romantic music. Who really likes the music when you go to karaoke? I certainly wasn't there for the music, and I sure as hell don't like romantic music anyway. He didn't stick around long, and I was soon headed back to the hotel with Elizabeth and Kate (journal not up yet).

It must have been my night, because as soon as we stepped out of the bar, a man in a beat up old station wagon with a for sale sign in the window stopped his car and started saying something to us from across the street. There wasn't a cab in sight, so we just started walking. We were a little nervous when the guy turned around, so we went to the grocery store to see if we could find the number for a cab company. Thankfully, two cabs came up to the light, and one even got out of the left-hand turn lane to come pick us up. We were very grateful, and I was even more grateful to get to bed that night.

Doogie rang somewhere around 4 AM this time, but I expected it. He came up to shower and change and left without a wink of sleep to catch his early flight home. I slept later that morning. Plum and I took our time getting ready and checking out before we headed over to the Comfort Inn for the last of the panels and readings.

Ivee and I headed back to the airport together and stopped in a restaurant there for something to eat, since I hadn't yet eaten that day. If only I could continue the diet I had while in Chicago. While many others ate lots of food, I wasn't very hungry the whole time I was there. Combined with the walking, my pants were quite loose when I got home. That's a very good thing.

Ivee took off first, and then I headed to my gate where they were already boarding our flight. Even though we boarded early, we didn't leave until late. I was tired and anxious to get home by this time, but it wasn't until I stepped out of the gate where my family usually waits for me that I realized how much I really missed them. I hurried to the security checkpoint where Booie was almost tackled by the National Guardsman for going too far to meet me. I guess six-year-old terrorists are a big threat. I got lots of hugs and kisses. Booie jumped and ran all over the place in her excitement, and I felt really good to be missed. To my surprise, the dog was in the car, and I got more kisses and a good sniff-down too.

I'm very glad to be home, even though it's been a difficult and emotional past couple days. Life goes on whether I leave town or not. It's not very exciting, and it's a bit of a downer lately. And now I have to get ready to go to a Pampered Chef party, because that's part of what life has on slate for me this day. To me, that's a pretty happy thing right now.


I was a bad girl, and I haven't thrown out a thing the past two days. I'll do it tomorrow, or you can send me hate mail.


Previous|Next
One year ago - Whoop Me!

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:

|

< previous | next >